Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe was good. The only thing I did differently was tossed my meat and seasonings in flour, then seared them. I reduced the rosemary, added in extra vegetables and a bit of tomato paste and tomato sauce. Mmmm, mmm, good and nicely served as a soup with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I made this stew for dinner last night. My husband licked the gravy off his plate! I used the ideas from "chucks review" it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My family and I thought it was very good! Even my two toddlers ate it. I poured it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Better than Campbells! ;-) 1/4 c. flour and 2 tsp. Nature's in a bag, added stew meat, coated and then seared in pan with olive oil. Put in crockpot with water and seasonings, skipped pepper and bouillon (put beef bouillon in last). Used red potatoes and didn't peel. Added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Added cornstarch and water and bouillon the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this stew today just as it was written. It was "ok" but way to salty for my tastes! I added about 1 1/2 cups more water to the stew, but it thinned the gravy - I did not mind that too much. Overall it was a good starter recipe. If I make it again I will add the red wine and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Finally found the best beef stew recipe =) Thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna Moon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I make this recipe with beef broth liquid instead of cubes and water. Other than that, I follow it completely. It is really yummy and has joined my menu rotation. All my picky family eaters love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Just melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbysLand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Really good. I was craving beef stew but didn't have time for the crock pot. I think this is better anyway. I made changes Chuck suggested but didn't have wine so used some beer instead. Also used a pack of dry beefy onion soup mix in place of 2 of the boullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Made the stew in a pressure cooker. First brown meat with a little oil and deglaze with 1/2 cup wine. Replace bullion with 2 cans of beef stock and add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste. Put everything else in pressure cooker except corn starch for 15 minutes and then release pressure slowly. Open top add about 1/2 cup peas and 2 tablespoons of corn starch after mixing with some water to dissolve as a thickening agent. Add salt and pepper to taste and put back on stove top. Turn on pressure cooker for five more minutes and again slow release pressure. If the meat or veggies should not be done to your liking just increase or decrease cook time by a minute or more. Be sure to have some Italian bread for dipping in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCCI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States