Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Holy Cow! This recipe is soooo perfect!!! If you are a first timer, novice, or someone who prefers to really go by the book, TRY THIS!!! It's real beef stew, and just delicious!! Kiddos Paula! And thx so much for sharing!! Only added 1/2 cup red wine and a garlic clove...Absolutely no reason to worry about or make ANY changes. If u like a thicker gravy just add 2 tsp extra corn starch/cold water...which you can easily gage and decide when you add the vegetables. I am one of those cooks who has always made intuitive changes. But, I could tell by reading the recipe, and reviews that there was no need. I've been married 30 years, and my husband is pretty accustomed to good meals, gotta repeat what he said! So cute! ' I'm so totally satisfied, there's nothing else in the world I need!' TEE HEE! I'll take that on a Friday night! However...not sure I'll find a dessert to keep him that way. :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
tthanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this stew for dinner, and my husband loved it. I added two cups of red wine and two cups of vegetable broth instead of four cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estelle Fromm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made the recipe, but cut it in half, enough for 5 servings. Because I follow recipes literally, I was disappointed, but fortunate enough to have opened the lid after 30 minutes, the 2 cups of water was just about gone and would have burned the meat had I not looked. You must add more water than the recipe calls for. then add more beef bouillon for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a great recipe I have changed a few things I didn't use any salt or pepper instead I marinated the beef for two days in montreal steat spice in the fridge of course,I used 3and1/2 cups of water instead of 4 and for my gravy I used 1 and 1/4 tablespoons of cornstarch and intead of water I used beef broth water seemed to lighten the color more than I liked but that is totally up to you I also added a lot of garlic yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very good only thing I did was make it a little thicker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This worked out very well for me. Like others, I did make some modifications: > I dredged the beef in flour before I browned it; > I didn't use boullion (because I forgot to buy some); I substituted red wine for half the water. I added salt to make up for the lack of boullion. > I added some red pepper, and used flour rather than cornstarch to thicken the gravy. > I had some shallots and threw them in, along with some garlic. > I added some peas. In retrospect, I think some beef broth (or the boullion) would have been good to add more broth. What I had was good, but not enough. Also, I think it would have been even better had I simmered it another hour -- following the recipe (perhaps I kept the temp too low), the vegetables were a little firm to my taste. The virtue of a recipe like this is that you can make some changes, and it'll work. Someone added tomatoes; I may try that too. I also thought about using bacon fat instead of oil at the beginning; again, for more flavor. Also, I might try bay leaf one of these times. I made some hot rolls and buttered them to eat with the stew, and that was perfect. I had it with some more of the red wine! Finally, this is easy. The vegetables can be cut up while the meat-and-broth are simmering, and it's no problem leaving it unattended while you do other things. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a really tasty recipe. Took a few ideas from Mr. Chuck Sampson (who must be an amazing cook) and it turned out perfect. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sari
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very easy to follow! Didn't think it would turn out so tasty with the few herbs used. I cut down to 3 1/2 beef cubes (I started with 2 cubes and just added more until I got the taste I wanted) and as mentioned here doubled the amount of cornstarch for a thicker gravy. Great recipe! My definition of a great comfort food. Served it on top of white rice and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
the best thing for winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States