Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is the best beef stew I've ever had. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this a few times now and absolutely love it. 1 hour once veggies are added I found was just not enough, potatoes especially were still crunchy. Best result was putting on in the morning and let simmer a good long while. Also fantastic, if not better, the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Love it! I did the same as most and used the flour mixture, added some cloves of garlic while simmering, also omitted the celery and added portabella mushrooms instead. Added more cornstarch and water, also added ketchup and worcestershire sauce. We had flaky biscuits with it! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good recipe, but I did dress it up just a little via some of the reviews. I tossed the meat in 1/4 cup flour with 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, and half of the black pepper (1/4 teaspoon); I browned it in 2 tablespoons oil (1 less than the recipe called for) and deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup red wine. I increased the potatoes to 6 medium (I used red ones with skin) and also increased the carrots to 6 medium. I added 2 bay leaves and a dried Japanese red pepper (with half of the seeds removed) along with the other dried herbs. I also increased the cornstarch to 1.5 tablespoons and left the lid off during the last 15 minutes, per the uploader's instructions; the added flour and potato also helped to thicken the final product, as did a little resting time. It turned out very nice and will be a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Stew was amazing. I followed some of the advice that others have mentioned and before searing the meat I tossed it in a Ziplock bag with 1/4 cup of flour, 1/4 tsp of onion powder, garlic powder and pepper. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine during deglazing process, 1/2 tsp of ketchup, A1, and worcestershire sauce after I added the potatoes, carrots and celery and 1/2 cup of barley during the last 30 min. I wasn't sure if 2 hours was enough time to cook as my potatoes and carrots were still undercooked. Next time I will either simmer for more than 2 hours or just throw everything in the crock pot. Other than that it was delicious and recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this first time. WOW!! ?? perfect perfection for on this terrible freezing artic cold winter blues, Thanks you for warming us up Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Dailerian
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic. Decided not to add veggies but put over mashed potatoes and the combo was sublime. Great for a snow day. Makes house smell divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Added bay leaves. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is an awesome stew template to follow. This was the first stew I ever made and I found it simple. The first time I used this recipe I found it to be way too salty, so I cut down on the bouillon the second time. I also used a flour and milk mixture in addition to some low fat sour cream I had in the fridge instead of cornstarch. This thickened it up nicely and made a beautiful gravy. I'm not sure if I cut my vegetables too small, but I found that even half an hour of simmering with the veggies left them mushy, never mind the suggested 1 hr. I also added worcestershire sauce as well as basil and garlic. I'll definitely be making this again - third time's a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
No changes except I'm not crazy about celery so I only used two stalks and still very tastey and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States