Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Flavor was perfect , I will not use any other beef stew recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This stew came out amazing! Great flavor! Next time I will add less liquid and more flour (I didn't have any cornstarch) but still great. I did add fresh garlic and sliced mushrooms. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved this recipe. I made some changes based on some of the reviews. I added some red wine after browning the beef and also increased the bullion, potatoes, carrots, and water. And, I didn't have celery in the house but I did have celeriac, so I used that. I also used thyme instead of rosemary because I didn't have rosemary either. As other reviews suggested I increased the cornstarch. Super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I cannot believe how GREAT this stew came out!!! This is my second time making it, I used another recipe and it didn't come out right, but THIS one is a hit. I too thought the stew would be a little bland due to the lack of seasonings, so I added garlic powder and pepper (no I didn't measure) while the meat was browning, followed the recipe until the end. I still thought it lacked flavor so I added salt...DO NOT DO THIS FOR IT WILL BE TOO SALTY. I had to add low sodium chicken broth to cut back some of the salt...did it work? A little. However, the end result is what mattered because my 5 and 2 year old ate it. Even my critical mother loved it (even with the salt). Thank you sooooo much for sharing this recipe. This is a keeper and I will be making this again (with no added salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandanch, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
It tasted alright, I needed to add spices to it. But it was a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Delicious!!! I've made this recipe several times as is, and it was a hit with my husband and VERY picky kids. I made it tonight following suggestions of substituting 1/2 cup red wine for the 1/2 cup water and 1 tbs of tomato paste and I would give it more than 5 stars if I could! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by casey518
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very yummy!!!! I added fresh mushrooms with the veggies & it turned out amazing! I also added another cup of broth & coated the meat in flour, pepper, onion & garlic powder before browning the meat like some of the others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Absolutely the best stew I have ever made-and I've made a few (including a yachtsmens stew with sherry.). I floured (flour, salt and pepper)1 lb of round beef cubes before browning. I sautéed 1 clove of garlic instead of using onion, with beef after it had browned. I used one package of beef bouillon and then 2 tsp. beef base with added water. I also flowed someone's advice and added 2 T. Ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I had to do some tweaking to this recipe. I added salt, no celery,and three times as much corn starch. Everyone at my table really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great, easy stew, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States