Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Simple and delicious! I did add a can of corn and a can of green beans at my husband's behest. I never use bouillon cubes, but a beef bouillon paste/base. I also used grass-fed beef stew meat, fresh parsley and organic veggies which, I believe, made it taste better. But, as usual, my husband thinks I'm crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. I add a little red wine. However, it's delicious with or without the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
great recipe! My hubby doesn't like stew usually, but loved this recipe. I put it altogether in my crockpot before I left for work and it was ready when I got back 8 hours later (on low). Otherwise, my changes were minor, I added a little bit of salt as I too did not use boullion. My husband is diabetic so I used a sweet potato instead of a regular white or red potato, but it was perfect! I'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I use baby potatoes and cut them in two, all ready cut carrots and washed and green beans and onions. I put 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I love this stew. My husband and dog loves it too. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good. The only thing that I did different, I left out the celery(do not like it). Otherwise made as is, very, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great base recipe. Flavorful throughout. Even my very picky husband likes it! Tender meat, although I used stir-fry strips cut in half crosswise. The meat is more consistent, since with stew meat you get trimmings from lots of different cuts. Made some changes: dredged meat with Kentucky Kernel Seasoned Flour (eliminates need for salt, pepper, garlic etc) shaken in bag and browned a single layer of meat at a time in olive oil; deglazed pan with 1/2 cup or so of Alltech's Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale; used Knorr Homestyle Concentrated Beef Stock (didn't have my preferred Minor's Beef Base); and used a bag of frozen stew vegetables from Kroger (pearl onions, carrots, celery, and potatoes. Next time I will cut potatoes in half. Do not thaw veggies). Added a large sprig of fresh rosemary from my winter garden. Needed 1-2 more cups of liquid. I used water, but could use more ale, beef broth, or stock. Flavor was still perfect even with the extra water. Didn't add any salt, and just a bit of freshly ground pepper. Can't wait to make this again. The lesson here is to experiment , but keep the cooking methods and time. Be sure to use a large pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was perfect as is. Being West Indian I like things spicy. So I added about a tablespoon of hot pepper sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Martin
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed the recipe to the letter and was bowled over!! This was really good and the meat was nice and tender despite my worries. Only thing I did was to add a little more cornstarch as we like a thicker gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States