Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Delicious. I went for a second helping! I never do that. Super salty though. Next time I'll use a low sodium broth. I followed Chuck Sampson's suggestion on the flour, garlic and onion powder coating for beef. Also made "Dumplings" by Carol from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great base recipe! I had to add salt at the end, and I had to use a lot more cornstarch for thickening, but it was a delicious meal. I'll make it again, using fresh rosemary and then flour/water to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Simple, delicious and soul warming. Suggestion - add a a tablespoon of hot sauce for a bit of "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Krengel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I didn't read reviews before trying it out. I made some of my own modifications based on ingredients at hand and previous stew experience. It turned out to be a very good, likeable stew but didn't leave me raving. I didn't have bouillon so used chicken broth instead, 1/4 cup wine, bay leaves, thyme, Worcestershire sauce. I was intrigued by the lack of browning with flour, but I think next time I will use seasoned flour to brown and deglaze as many people have suggested. Definitely needs garlic and mine needed salt since I wasn't using bouillon. It's a good base stew recipe to work from I think, easy to follow and easy to modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Akin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
i like this recipe alot, however i will add a bit more liquid to it. other wise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Akin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really like this stew, but had to give it a 3 stars because my family was so-so, okay with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I instead of the cubes, I used 3 cups of beef stock and 1 Sam Adams beer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Perfectly simple beef stew and absolutely delicious!! Just coat meat in flour-garlic powder-onion powder prior to browning and triple the cornstarch-water mix for a thicker stew. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley Mraz
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Easy to make, and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Such an easy stew to make and great flavor I changed a few things though just because they're old habits:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair Jarvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States