Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I tried this with the flour like someone had said in their review. It worked and was amazing! so thank you also with the left overs I made pies out of it you must get a pie maker if you dont have one. This dish makes amazing pies and you can also freeze them. Many thanks everyone for your reviews love this site! keep it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is my new favorite beef stew recipe! I did make a few changes like tossing the beef cubes with flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder before browning them. I omitted the onions and celery because my husband doesn't like them and added a couple more potatoes. I left everything else the same and the combination of seasonings was very good. The only thing I would do differently if I was only going to cook it as long as recommended is cut the amount of liquid. I cooked mine longer than 2 hours and still had to add more cornstarch and cook it without the lid for the last 20 minutes or so to get it to thicken up. I think 3 cups of liquid would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Holy yumminess! This was really good. I did take the advice of a few other reviewers. Here’s what I did: Put 1/4 cup flour in bag along with 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder & 1/2 tsp pepper. Put meat in and shook it up. I then seared the meat in a pot then scraped off the bits at the bottom while adding the liquid (I added about ½-1 additional cup of water towards the middle/end of cooking). You will probably want to add more liquid towards the middle/end of the cooking time, I added about ½-1 additional cup of water. Lastly, I added 1 tbsp ketchup & Worcestershire. So much flavor! My husband is a super picky eater and he really enjoyed this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Scott from NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I don't usually make 2 hour prep dinners on a Monday night, but made this stew with all of the recommendations- shake seasoning and ketchup, A-1, worcheshire over biscuits and it's amazing!! Add lots of red wine in the second hour of reduction
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I make this same stew except I use a slow cooker. I think the corn starch is to thicken the gravy a bit, but I use tapioca and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Rhetts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
First of all, not nearly enough seasoning.Needed garlic, thyme, more pepper, a bay leaf I will never understand people who completely rewrite the recipe and cooking instructions, and give it five stars. You are supposed to rate ghe recipe as written or submit your recipe as a different dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very thin and watered down. Also, not a lot of flavor. Could definitely taste the rosemary which was nice but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The only change I would make to this recipe is to add half a rutabaga or turnip as I know it - diced - the extra flavour is unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I was looking for a new stew recipe. This one has become our favorite. I can use any cut of meat and it always comes out delicious and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Collette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States