Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a really tasty recipe. Took a few ideas from Mr. Chuck Sampson (who must be an amazing cook) and it turned out perfect. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sari
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very easy to follow! Didn't think it would turn out so tasty with the few herbs used. I cut down to 3 1/2 beef cubes (I started with 2 cubes and just added more until I got the taste I wanted) and as mentioned here doubled the amount of cornstarch for a thicker gravy. Great recipe! My definition of a great comfort food. Served it on top of white rice and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
the best thing for winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Delicious. I went for a second helping! I never do that. Super salty though. Next time I'll use a low sodium broth. I followed Chuck Sampson's suggestion on the flour, garlic and onion powder coating for beef. Also made "Dumplings" by Carol from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great base recipe! I had to add salt at the end, and I had to use a lot more cornstarch for thickening, but it was a delicious meal. I'll make it again, using fresh rosemary and then flour/water to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Simple, delicious and soul warming. Suggestion - add a a tablespoon of hot sauce for a bit of "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Krengel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I didn't read reviews before trying it out. I made some of my own modifications based on ingredients at hand and previous stew experience. It turned out to be a very good, likeable stew but didn't leave me raving. I didn't have bouillon so used chicken broth instead, 1/4 cup wine, bay leaves, thyme, Worcestershire sauce. I was intrigued by the lack of browning with flour, but I think next time I will use seasoned flour to brown and deglaze as many people have suggested. Definitely needs garlic and mine needed salt since I wasn't using bouillon. It's a good base stew recipe to work from I think, easy to follow and easy to modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Akin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
i like this recipe alot, however i will add a bit more liquid to it. other wise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Akin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really like this stew, but had to give it a 3 stars because my family was so-so, okay with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I instead of the cubes, I used 3 cups of beef stock and 1 Sam Adams beer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States