Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I pretty much followed the recipe. Only adjustment was a little more pepper and added some salt. It was really good. I used a chuck roast and cubed it. The meat was so tender. I will make again with a few tweeks. ..use red potatoes so they don't get mushy, add some red wine and will probably season the meat with flour mix before browning. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My husband loves this stew. I change it a little. I add diced garlic when browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The stew was very good I did add sea salt and Mrs. dash to give it more flavor. I will probably experiment with other ingredients such as, onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
My family loved this recipe. I also added garlic powder and more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Holy Cow! This recipe is soooo perfect!!! If you are a first timer, novice, or someone who prefers to really go by the book, TRY THIS!!! It's real beef stew, and just delicious!! Kiddos Paula! And thx so much for sharing!! Only added 1/2 cup red wine and a garlic clove...Absolutely no reason to worry about or make ANY changes. If u like a thicker gravy just add 2 tsp extra corn starch/cold water...which you can easily gage and decide when you add the vegetables. I am one of those cooks who has always made intuitive changes. But, I could tell by reading the recipe, and reviews that there was no need. I've been married 30 years, and my husband is pretty accustomed to good meals, gotta repeat what he said! So cute! ' I'm so totally satisfied, there's nothing else in the world I need!' TEE HEE! I'll take that on a Friday night! However...not sure I'll find a dessert to keep him that way. :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
tthanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this stew for dinner, and my husband loved it. I added two cups of red wine and two cups of vegetable broth instead of four cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estelle Fromm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made the recipe, but cut it in half, enough for 5 servings. Because I follow recipes literally, I was disappointed, but fortunate enough to have opened the lid after 30 minutes, the 2 cups of water was just about gone and would have burned the meat had I not looked. You must add more water than the recipe calls for. then add more beef bouillon for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a great recipe I have changed a few things I didn't use any salt or pepper instead I marinated the beef for two days in montreal steat spice in the fridge of course,I used 3and1/2 cups of water instead of 4 and for my gravy I used 1 and 1/4 tablespoons of cornstarch and intead of water I used beef broth water seemed to lighten the color more than I liked but that is totally up to you I also added a lot of garlic yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States