Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a great recipe I have changed a few things I didn't use any salt or pepper instead I marinated the beef for two days in montreal steat spice in the fridge of course,I used 3and1/2 cups of water instead of 4 and for my gravy I used 1 and 1/4 tablespoons of cornstarch and intead of water I used beef broth water seemed to lighten the color more than I liked but that is totally up to you I also added a lot of garlic yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very good only thing I did was make it a little thicker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This worked out very well for me. Like others, I did make some modifications: > I dredged the beef in flour before I browned it; > I didn't use boullion (because I forgot to buy some); I substituted red wine for half the water. I added salt to make up for the lack of boullion. > I added some red pepper, and used flour rather than cornstarch to thicken the gravy. > I had some shallots and threw them in, along with some garlic. > I added some peas. In retrospect, I think some beef broth (or the boullion) would have been good to add more broth. What I had was good, but not enough. Also, I think it would have been even better had I simmered it another hour -- following the recipe (perhaps I kept the temp too low), the vegetables were a little firm to my taste. The virtue of a recipe like this is that you can make some changes, and it'll work. Someone added tomatoes; I may try that too. I also thought about using bacon fat instead of oil at the beginning; again, for more flavor. Also, I might try bay leaf one of these times. I made some hot rolls and buttered them to eat with the stew, and that was perfect. I had it with some more of the red wine! Finally, this is easy. The vegetables can be cut up while the meat-and-broth are simmering, and it's no problem leaving it unattended while you do other things. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a really tasty recipe. Took a few ideas from Mr. Chuck Sampson (who must be an amazing cook) and it turned out perfect. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sari
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very easy to follow! Didn't think it would turn out so tasty with the few herbs used. I cut down to 3 1/2 beef cubes (I started with 2 cubes and just added more until I got the taste I wanted) and as mentioned here doubled the amount of cornstarch for a thicker gravy. Great recipe! My definition of a great comfort food. Served it on top of white rice and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
the best thing for winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Delicious. I went for a second helping! I never do that. Super salty though. Next time I'll use a low sodium broth. I followed Chuck Sampson's suggestion on the flour, garlic and onion powder coating for beef. Also made "Dumplings" by Carol from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great base recipe! I had to add salt at the end, and I had to use a lot more cornstarch for thickening, but it was a delicious meal. I'll make it again, using fresh rosemary and then flour/water to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Simple, delicious and soul warming. Suggestion - add a a tablespoon of hot sauce for a bit of "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Krengel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I didn't read reviews before trying it out. I made some of my own modifications based on ingredients at hand and previous stew experience. It turned out to be a very good, likeable stew but didn't leave me raving. I didn't have bouillon so used chicken broth instead, 1/4 cup wine, bay leaves, thyme, Worcestershire sauce. I was intrigued by the lack of browning with flour, but I think next time I will use seasoned flour to brown and deglaze as many people have suggested. Definitely needs garlic and mine needed salt since I wasn't using bouillon. It's a good base stew recipe to work from I think, easy to follow and easy to modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States