Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I haven't tried it yes, but plan to tomorrow, when our Texas weather turns cold. I was surprised to find a beef stew recipe that did not include canned tomatoes, but I am going to try it, and of course, I will brown my stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Timms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good, easy stew. I cut up a chuck roast (oh so tender!) and coated it with a mixture of flour, Tony's Chachere, onion powder, & garlic powder. Used my cast iron dutch oven and browned the meat with the onion. I didn't have any fresh carrots, so I used frozen ones (defrosted) and threw in a few frozen (defrosted) green beans, as well. So, so good! Delicious with hot popovers. This will be my "go to" stew from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Drenched the stewing beef in flour, pepper, salt before cooking. Then sautéed onions. Little less Rosemary. Wonderful with fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
We loved this beef stew creation. We made a few adjustments. We used 2lbs of flank steak (marinated in wine for about an hour) seared on a grill pan, before we added it to the large pot with the bullion/water/spice mixture. We also added about 3/4c of red wine, an additional 1/4c of water, and doubled the corn starch/cold water mixture. There is something about hearty stews - warms the soul! We highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
AMAZING! You would think with very few ingredients it would lack in flavor but this is an amazing recipe. The meat is mega tender! We will eat this a lot. Did add extra cornstarch for a thicker sauce but other than that left it alone and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Normajean Jacobs

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Simple yet delicious. I skipped the cornstarch part. Cooked on low for 8 hours in crock pot. Used only about 1 tablespoon of olive oil to brown meet. It's not too salty but I did add an extra onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best stew ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have just started getting into cooking again, now that I'm retired and have more time. My husband was over the moon and said he wanted stew. I was a bit reluctant, as he is Northern Irish and a bit of a stew connoisseur, but decided to try this recipe. It was a HUGE hit - he is still grinning from ear to ear. Easy to make and absolutely delicious. A real winner and one that will remain in my repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinders54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
The best stew I've ever tasted.... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meib
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
My search for THE beef stew has ended. I used this as a basis for the stew I ended up making. I started it with mirepoix (mixture of diced carrots , onions and celery), used beef broth instead. I also browned the meat first. Added bay leaves and half a cup of red wine. I also added canned whole plum tomatoes (not the juice) towards the end. After it was done and cooled, I let it sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavors deepen. It was great, my 3 year old was mopping up the sauce with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States