Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Added the red wine, extra veggies (2 more carrots, 2 more celery, 2 more small potatoes), and 5 times cornstarch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Excellent Easy Recipe loved by all in this house. Followed as recipe states and came out perfect. I don't use cornstarch so I used a 1/2 flour 1/2 coconut flour mixture which always works great. Also added some sweet potato, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My family loved it, especially my picky eater. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I followed instructions from the reviews and did the flour/pepper thing before hand. I missed the one that said don't add too much pepper after because it'll be spicy. It was, but it was still really good. I also used about 8 teaspoons of cornstarch to make it nice and thick. Really good recipe - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I'm rating this 5 stars because it tastes great and is very simple. We just upscaled this recipe to feed about 125 servings plus added more water and boullion to give us enough extra gravy to stretch further if need be. It came out great even at that scale and was simple enough to prepare for such a large crowd. The only thing we had to be careful of as we increased our gravy amount was making sure the saltiness of the boullion cube didn't take over, but we found it didn't in our case. Our meat was nice and tender but we did cook the stew a lot longer than the recipe due to the extra large pots and the need to get it started early in the day. Other than that the proportions of ingredients and seasonings and everything else was per the recipe (although we did chop the celery into smaller pieces, about 1/2 inch). For at home, I might add in some extra veggies of different sorts for a change but I found the seasoning to be really good and we got rave reviews at our event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Really good! I added more cornstarch like others suggested, but don't know if it really needed it. I am saving this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
The stew was very good. I made a few changes by doubling the carrots and celery and eliminating the potatoes , we like egg noodles with stew". I also used two quart containers of beef stock instead of bouillon cubes and added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Next time I'll leave out or decrease the Rosemary. Some one said gravy was too thin, well I thicken it till it is what we like, all personal choices. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
My family liked this stew. I did shake the meat in flour, garlic powder and onion powder before browning as others suggested, and I used beef broth since that's what I had on hand and I cooked it in the crock pot. The meat was so moist and tender and the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Simple and delicious! I did add a can of corn and a can of green beans at my husband's behest. I never use bouillon cubes, but a beef bouillon paste/base. I also used grass-fed beef stew meat, fresh parsley and organic veggies which, I believe, made it taste better. But, as usual, my husband thinks I'm crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States