Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef T. Butrick
Home Town: Falls City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I tried this and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I make this over and over again, I do add a quarter cup of red wine to it though. It's lovely without as well, I prefer it with the wine. Maybe it because I get to finish the bottle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Driedger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The first time I made it I was elated. While I did cook beef stew from scratch before, there were times when I had to depend on the McCormick Beef Stew seasoning mix and my pressure cooker when I'm pressed for time. This recipe is so flavorful and rich. The only change I made, is to coat the beef pieces with flour, garlic powder, pepper and onion powder before browning, which I customarily do when I cook beef stew. The flour, fat and seasonings also creates a very thick and rich roux when the liquid is added so I didn't need to thicken it with cornstarch later. The second time I made this recipe, I added half water, half red wine plus some ketchup just for personal preference. This recipe is definitely godsend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Just made a couple minor changes and now have a go to beef stew recipe. YEAH! Added 1 TBLS of tomato paste, 1 TBLS of worcestershire, some Lawry's Season Salt to taste. Also, because I cut the 2 hour window close, I just threw in a bag of Birds Eye Recipe Ready Stew Blend for Beef Stew (Carrots, Onions, Potatoes & Celery the last half hour. Made the recipe even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love the recommendations of adding 1 Tblsp each of A-1, ketchup, and Worcestershire sauce. I also tend to use a bit less beef (1.5 pounds), and cut up the cubes smaller. Excellent recipe. A new regular in rotation at my house. Mushrooms are another good veggie addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe was great! I just did some things differently. I seasoned my meat with worshire sauce, garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, celery seeds, dried chives, parley, chopped onions and adobo. I let the meat sit for about 3-4 hrs. Then I browned the meat in olive oil, allowed it to make it's own water, place maybe a cup full more, a pinch of dry rosemary, 2 bay leaves and covered. After simmering for an hour I put more onions and a couple of cubed potatoes in. At the last 30 mins I added chopped green and red peppers along with frozen corn, green beans and carrot mix, along with corn starch. It turned out excellent!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHairlova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
very easy and very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
What a great stew. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Yum!!! This was real good i did what others suggested and mixed onion powder garlic and pepper in a ziplock then added meat and shook it up! Then I browned it made the house smell sooo good. Then I also added a table spoon of a1 and w. Sauce! I also add a little butter at the end before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States