Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
First time making a stew, followed Chuck's tips and the stew turned out wonderful! We added about 2 cups of wine, made do without the corn starch by mashing some of the potatoes and the results were wonderful! Good consistency. Allow about 3-4 hours for the crock pot to simmer and the meat should be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
No changes to the recipe. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Used some red wine and seasoned the meat prior to browning as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
The flavor was very good. I did coat the meat in flour that had garlic and pepper in it. I used olive oil. In addition to using beef broth, I added a 1/2 C red wine, a few splashes of worchester sauce and some Montreal Steak seasoning and Lawyers salt. The only think I didn't like is that the sauce was way too watery. Next time I will thicken it. The kitchen smelled wonderful and the stew was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I made a lot of changes but it was good. No need to cook meat separately for so long, it can cook with the veggies and turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was so easy and great! I did use a cup of red wine. I think this is a very important substitution. I also added a little butter. I couldn't wait for my girl to come home so we could eat it. Great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Yummy! Added a few extra veggies (green beans, corn, and peas) and it was fantastic. Our family of 4 ate every last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was great! One thing I did differently was to add potatoes and veggies all at once (right after browning the meat and adding the bouillon) and cooked it for just over 1 hour and 30 minutes. The potatoes I used were the mini ones, cut in half for even cooking. Everything was cooked perfectly. Also, I used more than the equivalent of three potatoes suggested, so I didn't have too much extra liquid, like some of the other reviewers...no need to add additional corn starch that way. Everything was tender and delicious. I added one tsp of ketchup to cut the salt a little bit. My husband LOVED this and I'm making it for a second time this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Shut the front door! This recipe is money. Tried dozens, and this one knocked the ball out if the park!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My whole family loved this even my 3 year old and my picky husband. I made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States