Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Overall, it was okay, but it felt like there was something extra missing. It wasn't what I was expecting, but then again, I may have been influenced to expect something similar to Korean beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Yummy! Used fresh rosemary, parsley and one garlic clove. Also added couple tbls ketchup, couple dashes of Worcester and A1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made a few changes by adding seasoned tomato paste and I browned the meat in creole seasonings. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefslab

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef T. Butrick
Home Town: Falls City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I tried this and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I make this over and over again, I do add a quarter cup of red wine to it though. It's lovely without as well, I prefer it with the wine. Maybe it because I get to finish the bottle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Driedger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The first time I made it I was elated. While I did cook beef stew from scratch before, there were times when I had to depend on the McCormick Beef Stew seasoning mix and my pressure cooker when I'm pressed for time. This recipe is so flavorful and rich. The only change I made, is to coat the beef pieces with flour, garlic powder, pepper and onion powder before browning, which I customarily do when I cook beef stew. The flour, fat and seasonings also creates a very thick and rich roux when the liquid is added so I didn't need to thicken it with cornstarch later. The second time I made this recipe, I added half water, half red wine plus some ketchup just for personal preference. This recipe is definitely godsend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Just made a couple minor changes and now have a go to beef stew recipe. YEAH! Added 1 TBLS of tomato paste, 1 TBLS of worcestershire, some Lawry's Season Salt to taste. Also, because I cut the 2 hour window close, I just threw in a bag of Birds Eye Recipe Ready Stew Blend for Beef Stew (Carrots, Onions, Potatoes & Celery the last half hour. Made the recipe even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love the recommendations of adding 1 Tblsp each of A-1, ketchup, and Worcestershire sauce. I also tend to use a bit less beef (1.5 pounds), and cut up the cubes smaller. Excellent recipe. A new regular in rotation at my house. Mushrooms are another good veggie addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe was great! I just did some things differently. I seasoned my meat with worshire sauce, garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, celery seeds, dried chives, parley, chopped onions and adobo. I let the meat sit for about 3-4 hrs. Then I browned the meat in olive oil, allowed it to make it's own water, place maybe a cup full more, a pinch of dry rosemary, 2 bay leaves and covered. After simmering for an hour I put more onions and a couple of cubed potatoes in. At the last 30 mins I added chopped green and red peppers along with frozen corn, green beans and carrot mix, along with corn starch. It turned out excellent!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHairlova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States