Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I only had 1lb of beef defrosted, so I adjusted the recipe a bit. Coated in flour, garlic powder, parsley, rosemary and pepper to fast fry, then added a little more pepper, rosemary and parsley with 2c broth and 1/2c red wine. After an hour, added in the chopped potatoes, and simmered in low for another 1 1/2 hrs, then added in some frozen mixed veg for the last half hr (no carrots or celery in the house ATM).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
EASY and DELICIOUS. I followed the recipe except omitted celery (added a little celery salt instead). Will try again and play with it. Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Found this to be kind of bland. Needed more seasonings and flavor, meat was superbtender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLou
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Excellent, a sure pleaser. I followed the recs here and did the following to improve it: Shake meat w/ 1/4th cup flour, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder in bag before browning. To the liquids, add 1/2 cup of red wine, 1 tblsp ketchup, 1 tblspn A-1, 1 tblspn wistersire. Can use 4 cups beef stock instead of water+ bullion cubes. In the future I would use an additional tspn of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
THE BEST stew ever! We love this recipe. No changes, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Sauteed meat with onions, garlic, spices, Worcestershire sauce (added cumin - sooo much flavor). Used broth, added flour/water to thicken. Added peas/corn at the end. Very good. Also even better when I cooked it in the crock pot. Tried adding tomato paste/crushed tomatoes once, don't recommend that, it's too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
AWESOME! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is a delicious stew. Will make again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
(soup lady)-the stew was great made a few changes followed wht 1 reviewer did chuck,,added red wine for deglazin & also added more veggies will make this again, 1/23/15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States