Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lisa weston
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
My husband stated that this was the best stew he has ever eaten. After reading reviews, i made the following changes.....used 2 cups water and 2 cups red cooking wine. I added a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce. I used 4 red potatoes (unpeeled) and I did use more cornstarch as was recommended. I opted to cook this in my dutch oven at a very low temp until the last 20 minutes, making my cook time about 5 hours. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Added some salt and doubled the cornstarch. Served with buttery yeast rolls. Comforting deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
What a delicious recipe. I am new to cooking and this recipe couldn't have been simpler. My husband and daughter love it. Very easy and you don't really have to keep an eye on it. I did change a little bit of the recipe. Right before you cook the meat I did what another reviewer said and put the meat in a bag with 1/4 flour added a teaspoon of garlic and onion. powder with half a teaspoon of pepper. Shaking it all up, it smells amazing. Then you fry it in oil to really capture those flavors in the meat. As for the bouillon cubes, for me they never really dissolve like I wanted them to so I purchased the beef powder bouillon and it tastes amazing. Delicious. One of my favorite recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRENDA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
The BEST stew I've ever made! I am not a stew lover but this was soooooo good! I did make it in a crock pot rather than stove top. I cooked the beef and then added roughly cut potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans and onions along with the parsley and rosemary. I also added about 1 1/2 cups of red wine (this really made it more flavourful) I set the crockpot on low and let it go for 6 hours then I added the cornstarch mixture. I quadrupled this mixture as it was too runny. I then turned the crock pot on high for 1 hour, the vegetables were perfect! Not mushy at all and the beef was so tender! This is a keeper for sure, I'm really not sure why anyone would give it less than 5 stars! Thank you ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Made this tonight, with no changes. I used Herb Ox brand bouillon w/ no MSG (but WITH sodium), and the stew still tasted under-seasoned. I needed to add a little salt and a dash of Worchester at the table to keep it from tasting so bland. If you serve it with a salty biscuit and salted butter (as I did), you the salt in those other foods will round out each mouthful. Otherwise, good recipe for someone watching his/her sodium intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Loved it!! I actually put all the ingredients in the crock pot for 6 hours on High and it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Although it was too hot to be cooking this in the summer, it was still wonderful once it cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Busk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Richfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Great recipe! I added just a little more corn starch to thicken a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Delicious beef stew! We loved it, and have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iva281

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAMIEHAN76
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIEHAN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States