Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Easy to prepare. Tastes good. Family loved it. What else do you need from a recipe? One caution, I made 8 servings according to the recipe, but we only got 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This was more like a soup than a stew; I wanted something with a thicker liquid. It was ok for a soup. My husband only had one serving then ate cereal; he wouldn't eat the leftovers--a sure sign that it wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
A lovely, comforting stew. I added mushrooms as well and I think that complimented the wine flavors. I too had to add flour to make it thicker (i just added 1/4 cup at the beginning and spooned in a couple more at the end). I also did this on a stovetop and let it cook on a low heat for a total of 4.5 hours- worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This stew was pretty good. I enjoy a thicker stew but if you want one that is more soup like this is a good one. I thought the wine added a unique taste. Good to share with others because it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I was looking for a hearty stew to serve after a cold day of sailing and this one hit the stop. I cooked it on very low heat for a much longer amount of time (crock-pot style) and added frozen peas in the last half-hour. It makes A LOT of stew so I ended up giving it to neighbors. The wine adds an element of depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was an O.K. dish. Felt the wine was a bit overwhelming; would cut it back to half a cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Perfection! Hubby said it was the best beef stew he ever had. The only thing I changed was I added peas in place of the celery. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Very good!!!!! I added all and threw in the crock pot and everyone loved it, I did have to thicken it with flour to get a more stew like base. Once I got into peeling the pearl onions I almost left them out but it was worth all the work, that is the only difficult part about this , time consuming peeling those tiny little onions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This stew is excellent, with just the right flavor and thickness. I cook the meat and onions in one pot, I also add peas at the final stage of cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
this stew is absolutely delicious! I added frozen peas to the last half hour of cooking time and it was exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States