Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Turned out great. Next time I won't use the pearl onions, instead I will increase the amount of chopped onion. I will make this one all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Great recipe! Of course I tasted it along the way and added more red wine (splashes here and there). I also increased the seasoning by my taste. I didn't use pearl onions, because I didn't have any. Great recipe and easy enough to add extra spices based on your own preferances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent flavor. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the best beef stew I have ever had, I think the red wine was the main touch, but it was thick, and tasty, and I make this now every time I want beef stew, you won't be disappointed! Thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilyshropshire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Really delicious, a keeper! Good recipe for the leftover red wine that had been sitting in our fridge for a few months (I had reserved it for cooking). Next time I would prefer to use an all-natural broth instead of the boullion. I did not have fresh parsley, pearl onions or enough potatoes and it still turned out great! For a change add a touch of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is what Stew is supposed to taste like! A good old fashion comfort food. I halved the recipe and it turned out perfect. The soupy part of the stew is quite thin but there is not very much of it so overall the stew is chunky. The only thing I did differently was I used yellow onion instead of pearl onions. Trust me, make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
AMAZING! My only go to stew recipe for sure. I've made this many times now and here are my changes. Instead of a can of whole peeled romas, I use a can of diced romas. Instead of water and bouillon I use 2 cans of beef consume with the water. I omit the thyme and pearl onions and through in a bay leaf during simmering. I also usually end up adding more than 1 cup of wine.....it's SOOOOOOO good! Thanks for the recipe. I also do the whole 2 1/2 to 3 hours of simmering, it SO worth it!!!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Meisner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this stew for our Super Bowl party and it was a huge hit among adults and kids. I only made a couple minor changes. Instead of potatoes, I used parsnips. If you double the recipe as I did, I recommend six. I also added three tablespoons of ketchup and three tables worcestershire sauce (if you double the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a terrific recipe - only change is that I also added some Rosemary and used Guinness instead of Red Wine - made it very beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Tastes great, the only thing I did differently was to substitute Guinness for red wine. It's more like a Irish stew, yummy. Served with cornmeal bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterleamon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States