Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was great! The beef was the most tender I've ever had, it melts in your mouth! The only thing I had to do differently was give it an extra 20 minutes or so until the potatoes were actually tender. Some crumbled bacon makes a great addition, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A good, basic beef stew recipe. I browned the meat in flour and placed it in a 5-quart crockpot. I used beef broth (1 can) rather than water and beef boullion, 3 stalks celery rather than six per personal taste. The ingredients filled the crockpot to the rim and were cooked for 8 hours on low. The stew was rated five by the family, but by personal taste we'll replace the wine with additional beef broth and add a can of Rotel tomatoes next time. The broth seemed thin while cooking, but thickened up well as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe as it stands is very good hence the 5 stars but there are a couple of things I'd like to point out. First browning 3 pounds of meat is no easy task, you have to do it in batches and make sure you use a non-stick pan. I made some medallions for my brother and I just using the browning part while we waited for the stew and it was fantastic and tender. I followed other suggestions and used 2 cups beef stock, I think the 3 cups of water with the bouillon would have definitely been to soupy. I was also a little skeptical on the amount of wine but it turned out to be just fine in the end. I agree with a lot of other readers that you should rate a recipe based on as is no tweaks, if you want to tweak it then post your own recipe for review. This one as is, is fantastic and will definitely be a keeper in our house. Thank you very much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great - I made some changes, which is why I'm not giving it 5 stars. I doubled the amount of wine and water because it seemed to be thick. Also, added spices just to taste, and left out the celery and pearl onions. Great, heart stew for a cold winter day. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We were snowed in when we made this, so we just pulled together what we had. We added a little extra red wine and a bay leaf in the beginning, didn't have any celery or pearl onions. We ran out of flour after working on the meat, so we thickened the stew with bread crumbs and half and half milk. Also, after adding the vegetables, we only cooked an additional 45 minutes. The vegetables retained a slight outer firmness but were soft inside, the beef was tender and absorbed a wonderful flavor, the stew was rich and delicious. We enjoyed it with sweet Challah bread, and will DEFINITELY make it again! UPDATE: Made this again and had to make a few small changes. Being pregnant, I decided to avoid using the wine, so I replaced with 1 more cup of water and 1 more beef bouillion. Also doubled the garlic, and unfortunately forgot to pick up pearl onions for this. Had to cook an extra 5 minutes to soften the potatoes a little more. YUM!! This came out absolutely DELICIOUS and will continue to be a repeat, with and without wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this and it was wonderful. I have never made beef stew before. I added a little more wine and bouillon then was called for, it was so good! I will most certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This stew is AMAZING!!! I added rutabega, peas and mushrooms along with the potatoes, celery and onion. My husband said this was the best stew he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcfeyen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Better than five stars. So good. Made exactly as directions said, but added a tiny bit more red wine, because I'm a fan. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this was a very good basic stew recipe that is easy to tweak based on personal preferences. the red wine really gives it a nice rich flavor! i omitted the water and beef bouillon and used about 4 cups all natural beef broth and 1 1/2 cups red wine for my liquid. also added a bay leaf and a few tablespoons of worcestershire. used sweet potatoes instead of white since my hubby and i try to avoid white potatoes. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent! I used butter to brown the beef and used beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and it turned out awsome! We had sourdough bread and black butte porter with it, the stew really brought out the tastes of the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States