Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
A great recipe, although I did make several modifications to better suit my preferences, (added mushroom, used less potato, and added a dash of Worcestershire sauce), I still give this recipe 5 stars as-is, cuz it definitely would have been fine without the modifications that I made, I'm just really picky when I cook for myself simply cuz I can be lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Everyone liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I must say I like the end result, although it would be nice if it were just a bit thicker. I'm not as good of a cook as I would like to be, so, not sure how to thicken this easily without risking ruining it... The other thing I have trouble with is browning all the meat easily. Its quite the task! But the stew is a tasty meal and my boyfriend truly enjoys it which is important!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Love this recipe. I have made it a number of times and have found that upping the wine and the garlic makes it more to my family's taste. Also, added frozen peas for color and I usually have to thicken it a bit at the end. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Just tried this recipe and loved it!! I added a few additional onions with the beef when browning, thickly sliced, and left out the pearl onions. I'm thinking of trying a pint of Guinness next time instead of the wine. I didn't have trouble with mine thickening. It turned out just fine. Definitely going to add this to the winter menu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe but just didn't find it exceptional or worth repeating. I don't believe the canned tomatoes helped; the next beef stew reciped I try will not include tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A very delicious and simple stew. I use a nice French bordeaux for the wine which adds depth. I also lessen the pearl onions by half and add a cup of frozen young peas near the end. Excellent flavor! Been making this stew for years and even the kids love it. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great tasting stew! Lots of flavor and vegetables. My family loved it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth0428
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe -a few changes -- Used beef broth instead of bullion and water. I added my own spin with mushrooms and peas. Next time I'll up the wine a bit (adds a nice flavor) ... Also, next time I'm make the larger recipe! I sized this down thinking it would be too much -- It was gone in no time at all and everyone loved it! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth0428

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good beef stew! I followed this recipe pretty closely, but I used beef broth for the water/bouillon, and instead of pearl onions, I used regular onion cut into wedges. The amount of flour that stuck to the meat before sautéing was just enough to give the broth some body. This stew had a nice depth of flavor, not doubt due to the addition of red wine. I would make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States