Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Deeelicious!! This beef stew made a wonderful bowlful of delicious beef chunks, gravy and vegetables. Once I added the vegetables (carrots, potatoes) I only cooked it another 30 minutes because I did not want the veggies to overcook. It was perfect. We went through a whole loaf of sourdough bread making sure every last drop was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My entire family loved this stew! I cooked the floured meat right in my soup pot and deglazed it with the liquid. Perhaps that is why mine came out nice and thick, not at all like a soup. I used half beef broth and half water with a touch of better than bouillon for the water. I used petite-diced tomatoes, less celery, and added some frozen peas at the end of cooking for both color and flavor. This was comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This stew is stick to your ribs hearty and delicious. I thickened it at the end with about a 1/4 cup of flour water. My husband commented that the flavors blend beautifully - no one flavor over-powers the other. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Simple and tastey! Just the way we like it. The only change that we made was we added halved mushrooms at the same time as the rest of the vegetables and it worked out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Very good!!!!! I added all and threw in the crock pot and everyone loved it, I did have to thicken it with flour to get a more stew like base. Once I got into peeling the pearl onions I almost left them out but it was worth all the work, that is the only difficult part about this , time consuming peeling those tiny little onions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
this stew is awesome! people that said it was bland lack imagination ;) cool things to add: portobello mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, red chili powder, and a little brown sugar. also, it helps to have some extra red wine and tomato pure on hand, as mine was a little thick and i went back and forth from adding these two liquids versus adding more water. (we like it thick) **major bonus:** there was enough left over that i didnt have to make lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slinky_frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very good. I added extra wine and eliminated the beef bouillon cubes (they usually have MSG - best avoided). Water worked just fine. Used herbes de provence rather than any individual herbs - quite tasty. No extra flour needed at the end - just didn't put as much liquid in to begin with. Put just enough in to cover the meat, then add a bit more when veggies are added. Uncover for 10 mins at end to reduce the liquid so it's thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Delicious. I did substitute Ribeye for the stew beef and added a touch of worstershire sauce plus corn for the carrots. Easy to make for a single man like me and once refrigerated it lasted for two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A good, basic beef stew recipe. I browned the meat in flour and placed it in a 5-quart crockpot. I used beef broth (1 can) rather than water and beef boullion, 3 stalks celery rather than six per personal taste. The ingredients filled the crockpot to the rim and were cooked for 8 hours on low. The stew was rated five by the family, but by personal taste we'll replace the wine with additional beef broth and add a can of Rotel tomatoes next time. The broth seemed thin while cooking, but thickened up well as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Five star + I added a little bit more red wind and it was just great. Everyone loved the stew. Even my wife who never eats beef stew loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States