Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
a really good & hearty stew, i did have to cook longer to ensure the vegies were done. like others i added extra flour. this recipe is a keeper, thx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I changed water to 1 1/2 cups and added 1 1/2 cups beef broth. I also used sherry to thin. I thickened it with 1/4 cups flour water. I thick it would be great served with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Loved this recipe! My hubby really enjoyed it also. I thought we'd have lots of leftovers that I'd need to freeze, but we ate it up in about three days for lunch. Really great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was delicious, and very easy! I love beef stew, so finding something so simple was pleasing. The best part about it is that it's very adaptable; I was clearing out some leftovers the last time I made it, and just threw things in, including some balsamic vinegar gravy. Wonderful! It's also possible to cut the cooking time with a few shortcuts if you're in a rush, but I recommend taking the full time to cook it whenever possible. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I found the secret to this stew, as with many hearty dishes is to use my cast iron stew pot. Start with a good chuck roast. Then brown the meat in the cast iron stew pot, deglaze that with whatever you like - a bit of beef broth, red wine what ever. Also - use the low salt beef broth - I think it's heartier and less salty than the bouillon. I like to control the amount of salt in a dish. Serve with fresh biscuits or warm bread - KNOCK OUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My wife and I really enjoyed this stew. It ranks as one of our favorite stews. I cooked the beef and onion in the same pot as the stew, used a good burgundy wine and added whatever vegetables I had on hand (carrots, celery, mushrooms and zuchinni). I scaled the recipe to 8 servings to serve 4 and I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatos and only 1 cup of water. I had to thicken the stew a little at the end with a flour paste. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Delicious. I did substitute Ribeye for the stew beef and added a touch of worstershire sauce plus corn for the carrots. Easy to make for a single man like me and once refrigerated it lasted for two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe. Even better the next day reheated. Also added about 8 mushrooms, stemmed and quartered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I tried this over the New Year and thought it was a bit bland. However, I have been trying several beef stew recipes in the last few weeks because of the cold weather. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this in my crock pot and it was really great. Everyone loved it, even me who is not a stew lover. I made the Herbed Dumplings to go one top of it. Wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States