Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Tastes great, the only thing I did differently was to substitute Guinness for red wine. It's more like a Irish stew, yummy. Served with cornmeal bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterleamon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Good! My guests loved it. I had to thicken it with flour at the end, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Wonderful! I have always gone the old route and made beef stew with the onion soup mix and flour. This stew was awesome. I did follow the advise of some other members and eliminate the water. I used 1 1/2 cups of beef broth and the 14.5 ounce can of petite cut tomatoes with zesty jalapenos. I promise it was not spicy at all. I also used sherry for the wine and added some Worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Simple and comforting, straight-forward recipe, yet rich and tasty beef stew that has a balanced flavor that can be built upon: worcestershire sauce, smoked paprika, cayenne...*key* must brown the meat well to create bits for flavor foundation and saute all the spices to bloom the flavors before deglazing with onions and other wet ingredients such as red wine and tomatoes. My son asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I'm a pretty inexperienced cook and I made this a couple days ago for the first time. I am very happy with the results, it tastes really good. I just followed the recipe and it pretty much all worked. I was confused that the recipe asked for an 8oz can of whole tomatoes -- that is pretty small and I couldn't find it at the grocery store. I put in two 14.5oz cans instead, with the juice of one, and it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Delicious! I did cook it longer than written and used a 15oz can of tomatoes. Also left out the pearl onions and added some mushrooms. I love the flavor the red wine gives this stew. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe here,except I made it in my crockpot,and added 1 can of unsalted green beans.Also,I mixed 2 tbsp cornstarch with 1/4 cup of cool water at the end,and left the lid off for 30 minutes.Superb!The red wine is a MUST!It really brings out the meaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee927

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottondale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was good. Very close to how I make it. I omitted the tomatoes and celery. I use regular onion cut up. I add more seasonings for taste. Good hearty meal. Serve with crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very good. I added extra wine and eliminated the beef bouillon cubes (they usually have MSG - best avoided). Water worked just fine. Used herbes de provence rather than any individual herbs - quite tasty. No extra flour needed at the end - just didn't put as much liquid in to begin with. Put just enough in to cover the meat, then add a bit more when veggies are added. Uncover for 10 mins at end to reduce the liquid so it's thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States