Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this and it was wonderful. I have never made beef stew before. I added a little more wine and bouillon then was called for, it was so good! I will most certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This stew is AMAZING!!! I added rutabega, peas and mushrooms along with the potatoes, celery and onion. My husband said this was the best stew he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly 'Kraemer' Feyen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Better than five stars. So good. Made exactly as directions said, but added a tiny bit more red wine, because I'm a fan. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this was a very good basic stew recipe that is easy to tweak based on personal preferences. the red wine really gives it a nice rich flavor! i omitted the water and beef bouillon and used about 4 cups all natural beef broth and 1 1/2 cups red wine for my liquid. also added a bay leaf and a few tablespoons of worcestershire. used sweet potatoes instead of white since my hubby and i try to avoid white potatoes. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent! I used butter to brown the beef and used beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and it turned out awsome! We had sourdough bread and black butte porter with it, the stew really brought out the tastes of the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Turned out great. Next time I won't use the pearl onions, instead I will increase the amount of chopped onion. I will make this one all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Great recipe! Of course I tasted it along the way and added more red wine (splashes here and there). I also increased the seasoning by my taste. I didn't use pearl onions, because I didn't have any. Great recipe and easy enough to add extra spices based on your own preferances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent flavor. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the best beef stew I have ever had, I think the red wine was the main touch, but it was thick, and tasty, and I make this now every time I want beef stew, you won't be disappointed! Thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilyshropshire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Really delicious, a keeper! Good recipe for the leftover red wine that had been sitting in our fridge for a few months (I had reserved it for cooking). Next time I would prefer to use an all-natural broth instead of the boullion. I did not have fresh parsley, pearl onions or enough potatoes and it still turned out great! For a change add a touch of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States