Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Everyone liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I must say I like the end result, although it would be nice if it were just a bit thicker. I'm not as good of a cook as I would like to be, so, not sure how to thicken this easily without risking ruining it... The other thing I have trouble with is browning all the meat easily. Its quite the task! But the stew is a tasty meal and my boyfriend truly enjoys it which is important!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Love this recipe. I have made it a number of times and have found that upping the wine and the garlic makes it more to my family's taste. Also, added frozen peas for color and I usually have to thicken it a bit at the end. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Just tried this recipe and loved it!! I added a few additional onions with the beef when browning, thickly sliced, and left out the pearl onions. I'm thinking of trying a pint of Guinness next time instead of the wine. I didn't have trouble with mine thickening. It turned out just fine. Definitely going to add this to the winter menu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe but just didn't find it exceptional or worth repeating. I don't believe the canned tomatoes helped; the next beef stew reciped I try will not include tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A very delicious and simple stew. I use a nice French bordeaux for the wine which adds depth. I also lessen the pearl onions by half and add a cup of frozen young peas near the end. Excellent flavor! Been making this stew for years and even the kids love it. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great tasting stew! Lots of flavor and vegetables. My family loved it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth0428
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe -a few changes -- Used beef broth instead of bullion and water. I added my own spin with mushrooms and peas. Next time I'll up the wine a bit (adds a nice flavor) ... Also, next time I'm make the larger recipe! I sized this down thinking it would be too much -- It was gone in no time at all and everyone loved it! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth0428

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good beef stew! I followed this recipe pretty closely, but I used beef broth for the water/bouillon, and instead of pearl onions, I used regular onion cut into wedges. The amount of flour that stuck to the meat before sautéing was just enough to give the broth some body. This stew had a nice depth of flavor, not doubt due to the addition of red wine. I would make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
wine added a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States