Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Beth0428
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe -a few changes -- Used beef broth instead of bullion and water. I added my own spin with mushrooms and peas. Next time I'll up the wine a bit (adds a nice flavor) ... Also, next time I'm make the larger recipe! I sized this down thinking it would be too much -- It was gone in no time at all and everyone loved it! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth0428

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good beef stew! I followed this recipe pretty closely, but I used beef broth for the water/bouillon, and instead of pearl onions, I used regular onion cut into wedges. The amount of flour that stuck to the meat before sautéing was just enough to give the broth some body. This stew had a nice depth of flavor, not doubt due to the addition of red wine. I would make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
wine added a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Loved it AS IS! Great flavor and was not too soupy or thick. The reason it was perfect was because I didn't try to change the recipe. If I changed the recipe it probably would have effected the taste and thickness of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Excellent! Added tomatoe paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Veggies took a long time to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
cooked in the crockpot. i didn't sear the meat first, but did coat with flour. added a small can of v-8 instead of the peeled tomatoes and beef stock instead of water and bouillon. i also added a handful of frozen peas. delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This stew came out great. I had to improvise after I started cooking and realized I didn't have any beef bouillon or anything that I could even substitue except a packet of ua jus gravy. Worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent flavour with the red wine and tomato. Made it exactly as written and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is so amazing! One of the first stews that actually thickens up perfectly with no fuss. The only changes I made were an additional cup of red wine and adding beef broth instead of water. Really fabulous and hearty! Dipping artesian bread into this stew is the best thing I've tasted in long time! Thanks for an easy, delicious dish Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States