Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe but just didn't find it exceptional or worth repeating. I don't believe the canned tomatoes helped; the next beef stew reciped I try will not include tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A very delicious and simple stew. I use a nice French bordeaux for the wine which adds depth. I also lessen the pearl onions by half and add a cup of frozen young peas near the end. Excellent flavor! Been making this stew for years and even the kids love it. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great tasting stew! Lots of flavor and vegetables. My family loved it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth0428
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe -a few changes -- Used beef broth instead of bullion and water. I added my own spin with mushrooms and peas. Next time I'll up the wine a bit (adds a nice flavor) ... Also, next time I'm make the larger recipe! I sized this down thinking it would be too much -- It was gone in no time at all and everyone loved it! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth0428

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good beef stew! I followed this recipe pretty closely, but I used beef broth for the water/bouillon, and instead of pearl onions, I used regular onion cut into wedges. The amount of flour that stuck to the meat before sautéing was just enough to give the broth some body. This stew had a nice depth of flavor, not doubt due to the addition of red wine. I would make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
wine added a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Loved it AS IS! Great flavor and was not too soupy or thick. The reason it was perfect was because I didn't try to change the recipe. If I changed the recipe it probably would have effected the taste and thickness of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Excellent! Added tomatoe paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Veggies took a long time to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
cooked in the crockpot. i didn't sear the meat first, but did coat with flour. added a small can of v-8 instead of the peeled tomatoes and beef stock instead of water and bouillon. i also added a handful of frozen peas. delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States