Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Pretty good; very traditional, but not the best I've ever had or anything. I just felt something was missing. I did cut the recipe in half and used a crockpot after searing the beef with flour, just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
the best stew, A must for all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I liked the flavors. I browned the floured meat right in the stockpot then added the liquids and deglazed the brown bits. That's how you get a thicker sauce. I added a lot more water than the recipe called for and the sauce still came out thick. It was even thicker the next day, and yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Easy to prepare. Tastes good. Family loved it. What else do you need from a recipe? One caution, I made 8 servings according to the recipe, but we only got 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This was more like a soup than a stew; I wanted something with a thicker liquid. It was ok for a soup. My husband only had one serving then ate cereal; he wouldn't eat the leftovers--a sure sign that it wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
A lovely, comforting stew. I added mushrooms as well and I think that complimented the wine flavors. I too had to add flour to make it thicker (i just added 1/4 cup at the beginning and spooned in a couple more at the end). I also did this on a stovetop and let it cook on a low heat for a total of 4.5 hours- worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This stew was pretty good. I enjoy a thicker stew but if you want one that is more soup like this is a good one. I thought the wine added a unique taste. Good to share with others because it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I was looking for a hearty stew to serve after a cold day of sailing and this one hit the stop. I cooked it on very low heat for a much longer amount of time (crock-pot style) and added frozen peas in the last half-hour. It makes A LOT of stew so I ended up giving it to neighbors. The wine adds an element of depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was an O.K. dish. Felt the wine was a bit overwhelming; would cut it back to half a cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Perfection! Hubby said it was the best beef stew he ever had. The only thing I changed was I added peas in place of the celery. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States