Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My entire family loved this stew! I cooked the floured meat right in my soup pot and deglazed it with the liquid. Perhaps that is why mine came out nice and thick, not at all like a soup. I used half beef broth and half water with a touch of better than bouillon for the water. I used petite-diced tomatoes, less celery, and added some frozen peas at the end of cooking for both color and flavor. This was comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good and hearty. Used beef broth instead of water and boullion. I used one pot and added an extra cup of broth. The result was a very thick stew. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Delicious. I made the following changes to fit our preferences. I used vegan beef tips. I substituted half the "meat" for mushrooms, added 1T fresh thyme and fresh rosemary, used fresh tomatoes, and orange peppers instead of celery and onions. Used vegetable broth in place of the beef, and vegan butter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
i used corona instead of wine, and spaghetti sauce instead of tomatos, and i added red pepper with the black when i browned the meat.. and it's excellent, which i couldn't have done without this recipe. nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This makes yummy stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
this stew is awesome! people that said it was bland lack imagination ;) cool things to add: portobello mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, red chili powder, and a little brown sugar. also, it helps to have some extra red wine and tomato pure on hand, as mine was a little thick and i went back and forth from adding these two liquids versus adding more water. (we like it thick) **major bonus:** there was enough left over that i didnt have to make lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slinky_frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
The best beef stew I've ever had! It was absolutely delicious and I will definitely make it time and time again. I would say the serving size is a bit off though..it looks more like to would serve 8-10 (unless you have people that eat very little)..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This recipe is simple to prepare, tastes great and can be easily adapted. The tomatoes in the recipe can be switched to tomato sauce, tomato juice or even fresh tomatoes. I now always marinate the beef for at least a few hours and add the carrots earlier than the recipe calls for, it reduces the cooking time and makes both more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My entire family loved this stew! I used beef broth instead of boullion cubes/water and reduced the liquid to 2 cups to make it less soupy. Very, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good recipe. I think 3/4 cup red wine will be sufficient for my taste next time, but I will make it again, for sure. Thanks! Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States