Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
The best beef stew I've ever had! It was absolutely delicious and I will definitely make it time and time again. I would say the serving size is a bit off though..it looks more like to would serve 8-10 (unless you have people that eat very little)..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This recipe is simple to prepare, tastes great and can be easily adapted. The tomatoes in the recipe can be switched to tomato sauce, tomato juice or even fresh tomatoes. I now always marinate the beef for at least a few hours and add the carrots earlier than the recipe calls for, it reduces the cooking time and makes both more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My entire family loved this stew! I used beef broth instead of boullion cubes/water and reduced the liquid to 2 cups to make it less soupy. Very, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good recipe. I think 3/4 cup red wine will be sufficient for my taste next time, but I will make it again, for sure. Thanks! Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This turned out well-not soupy-thick. It simmed for 2 hours. I added another bouillon and the flavor was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
2 words: SUPER YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
this stew is perfect for me for the very reason some others were disapointed. It is more like a soup. Which is what my partner likes with dumplings. I like a thick gravy with biscuts. With this I can have it both ways. Simply remove some of the liquid befoe making the dumplings and thicken it for me and then good to go to make his!! Delish and stops us from fighting the war over the stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Five star + I added a little bit more red wind and it was just great. Everyone loved the stew. Even my wife who never eats beef stew loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Good soup, bad stew. This was more of a vegetable beef soup than a stew but still had good flavor. I was just dissapointed because I was expecting gravy like juice not broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Pretty good; very traditional, but not the best I've ever had or anything. I just felt something was missing. I did cut the recipe in half and used a crockpot after searing the beef with flour, just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States