Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I tried this over the New Year and thought it was a bit bland. However, I have been trying several beef stew recipes in the last few weeks because of the cold weather. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this in my crock pot and it was really great. Everyone loved it, even me who is not a stew lover. I made the Herbed Dumplings to go one top of it. Wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Just what I was looking for...a healthy beef stew. Can't give it a 5 cause I changed so much. Scaled it to 6 servings. I used one tablespoon olive oil instead of all that butter/veg oil to sear meat. Used about 1/4 lb more meat then called for, but trimmed the fattiest pieces. Whole wheat flour for the coating and about two tablespoons worth to thicken it. Probably could have gotten away with less. Used about 3/4 less potato then called for. Store was out of pearl onions, used boiling onions, quartered. That all should have brought the protein/carbs/fat closer to 40/40/20 which is what I try and make most of my meals. Yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My entire family loved this stew! I cooked the floured meat right in my soup pot and deglazed it with the liquid. Perhaps that is why mine came out nice and thick, not at all like a soup. I used half beef broth and half water with a touch of better than bouillon for the water. I used petite-diced tomatoes, less celery, and added some frozen peas at the end of cooking for both color and flavor. This was comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good and hearty. Used beef broth instead of water and boullion. I used one pot and added an extra cup of broth. The result was a very thick stew. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Delicious. I made the following changes to fit our preferences. I used vegan beef tips. I substituted half the "meat" for mushrooms, added 1T fresh thyme and fresh rosemary, used fresh tomatoes, and orange peppers instead of celery and onions. Used vegetable broth in place of the beef, and vegan butter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
i used corona instead of wine, and spaghetti sauce instead of tomatos, and i added red pepper with the black when i browned the meat.. and it's excellent, which i couldn't have done without this recipe. nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This makes yummy stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
this stew is awesome! people that said it was bland lack imagination ;) cool things to add: portobello mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, red chili powder, and a little brown sugar. also, it helps to have some extra red wine and tomato pure on hand, as mine was a little thick and i went back and forth from adding these two liquids versus adding more water. (we like it thick) **major bonus:** there was enough left over that i didnt have to make lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slinky_frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
The best beef stew I've ever had! It was absolutely delicious and I will definitely make it time and time again. I would say the serving size is a bit off though..it looks more like to would serve 8-10 (unless you have people that eat very little)..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States