Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My wife and I really enjoyed this stew. It ranks as one of our favorite stews. I cooked the beef and onion in the same pot as the stew, used a good burgundy wine and added whatever vegetables I had on hand (carrots, celery, mushrooms and zuchinni). I scaled the recipe to 8 servings to serve 4 and I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatos and only 1 cup of water. I had to thicken the stew a little at the end with a flour paste. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Delicious. I did substitute Ribeye for the stew beef and added a touch of worstershire sauce plus corn for the carrots. Easy to make for a single man like me and once refrigerated it lasted for two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe. Even better the next day reheated. Also added about 8 mushrooms, stemmed and quartered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I tried this over the New Year and thought it was a bit bland. However, I have been trying several beef stew recipes in the last few weeks because of the cold weather. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this in my crock pot and it was really great. Everyone loved it, even me who is not a stew lover. I made the Herbed Dumplings to go one top of it. Wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Just what I was looking for...a healthy beef stew. Can't give it a 5 cause I changed so much. Scaled it to 6 servings. I used one tablespoon olive oil instead of all that butter/veg oil to sear meat. Used about 1/4 lb more meat then called for, but trimmed the fattiest pieces. Whole wheat flour for the coating and about two tablespoons worth to thicken it. Probably could have gotten away with less. Used about 3/4 less potato then called for. Store was out of pearl onions, used boiling onions, quartered. That all should have brought the protein/carbs/fat closer to 40/40/20 which is what I try and make most of my meals. Yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My entire family loved this stew! I cooked the floured meat right in my soup pot and deglazed it with the liquid. Perhaps that is why mine came out nice and thick, not at all like a soup. I used half beef broth and half water with a touch of better than bouillon for the water. I used petite-diced tomatoes, less celery, and added some frozen peas at the end of cooking for both color and flavor. This was comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good and hearty. Used beef broth instead of water and boullion. I used one pot and added an extra cup of broth. The result was a very thick stew. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Delicious. I made the following changes to fit our preferences. I used vegan beef tips. I substituted half the "meat" for mushrooms, added 1T fresh thyme and fresh rosemary, used fresh tomatoes, and orange peppers instead of celery and onions. Used vegetable broth in place of the beef, and vegan butter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
i used corona instead of wine, and spaghetti sauce instead of tomatos, and i added red pepper with the black when i browned the meat.. and it's excellent, which i couldn't have done without this recipe. nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States