Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very, very good. My family gobbled it all up in 24 hours! I didn't have the small onions so I replaced it with a full onion. The wine makes this stew delicious! Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I tried this and tweaked a couple of things,first off,I didn't use any water at all as it would mean too much liquid which would result into using flour which I wanted to avoid entirely. Secondly,I added just about half a teaspoon of fresh ginger. Lastly,I ommitted the potatoes and substituted them with peas....I still have guests requesting when I can make the stew again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
a really good & hearty stew, i did have to cook longer to ensure the vegies were done. like others i added extra flour. this recipe is a keeper, thx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I changed water to 1 1/2 cups and added 1 1/2 cups beef broth. I also used sherry to thin. I thickened it with 1/4 cups flour water. I thick it would be great served with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Loved this recipe! My hubby really enjoyed it also. I thought we'd have lots of leftovers that I'd need to freeze, but we ate it up in about three days for lunch. Really great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was delicious, and very easy! I love beef stew, so finding something so simple was pleasing. The best part about it is that it's very adaptable; I was clearing out some leftovers the last time I made it, and just threw things in, including some balsamic vinegar gravy. Wonderful! It's also possible to cut the cooking time with a few shortcuts if you're in a rush, but I recommend taking the full time to cook it whenever possible. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I found the secret to this stew, as with many hearty dishes is to use my cast iron stew pot. Start with a good chuck roast. Then brown the meat in the cast iron stew pot, deglaze that with whatever you like - a bit of beef broth, red wine what ever. Also - use the low salt beef broth - I think it's heartier and less salty than the bouillon. I like to control the amount of salt in a dish. Serve with fresh biscuits or warm bread - KNOCK OUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My wife and I really enjoyed this stew. It ranks as one of our favorite stews. I cooked the beef and onion in the same pot as the stew, used a good burgundy wine and added whatever vegetables I had on hand (carrots, celery, mushrooms and zuchinni). I scaled the recipe to 8 servings to serve 4 and I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatos and only 1 cup of water. I had to thicken the stew a little at the end with a flour paste. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Delicious. I did substitute Ribeye for the stew beef and added a touch of worstershire sauce plus corn for the carrots. Easy to make for a single man like me and once refrigerated it lasted for two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe. Even better the next day reheated. Also added about 8 mushrooms, stemmed and quartered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States