Beef Stew V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is what Stew is supposed to taste like! A good old fashion comfort food. I halved the recipe and it turned out perfect. The soupy part of the stew is quite thin but there is not very much of it so overall the stew is chunky. The only thing I did differently was I used yellow onion instead of pearl onions. Trust me, make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
AMAZING! My only go to stew recipe for sure. I've made this many times now and here are my changes. Instead of a can of whole peeled romas, I use a can of diced romas. Instead of water and bouillon I use 2 cans of beef consume with the water. I omit the thyme and pearl onions and through in a bay leaf during simmering. I also usually end up adding more than 1 cup of wine.....it's SOOOOOOO good! Thanks for the recipe. I also do the whole 2 1/2 to 3 hours of simmering, it SO worth it!!!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Meisner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this stew for our Super Bowl party and it was a huge hit among adults and kids. I only made a couple minor changes. Instead of potatoes, I used parsnips. If you double the recipe as I did, I recommend six. I also added three tablespoons of ketchup and three tables worcestershire sauce (if you double the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a terrific recipe - only change is that I also added some Rosemary and used Guinness instead of Red Wine - made it very beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Tastes great, the only thing I did differently was to substitute Guinness for red wine. It's more like a Irish stew, yummy. Served with cornmeal bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterleamon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Good! My guests loved it. I had to thicken it with flour at the end, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Wonderful! I have always gone the old route and made beef stew with the onion soup mix and flour. This stew was awesome. I did follow the advise of some other members and eliminate the water. I used 1 1/2 cups of beef broth and the 14.5 ounce can of petite cut tomatoes with zesty jalapenos. I promise it was not spicy at all. I also used sherry for the wine and added some Worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Simple and comforting, straight-forward recipe, yet rich and tasty beef stew that has a balanced flavor that can be built upon: worcestershire sauce, smoked paprika, cayenne...*key* must brown the meat well to create bits for flavor foundation and saute all the spices to bloom the flavors before deglazing with onions and other wet ingredients such as red wine and tomatoes. My son asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I'm a pretty inexperienced cook and I made this a couple days ago for the first time. I am very happy with the results, it tastes really good. I just followed the recipe and it pretty much all worked. I was confused that the recipe asked for an 8oz can of whole tomatoes -- that is pretty small and I couldn't find it at the grocery store. I put in two 14.5oz cans instead, with the juice of one, and it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States