Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We LOVE this recipe! Already made it several times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randerson26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Let's face it--it's all in the broth when you're ready to serve. I simmered in beef broth, added extra garlic, almost all the seasonings others had suggested (celery, a little cumin, basil), and it turned out "biscuit-soppin'" good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed the suggestions and used half beef broth and half water. Tasted great for dinner and even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I would really suggest adding a small can of tomato paste! It's a great secret ingredient and really adds a fantastic subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a good basic recipe to build on and much like a recipe I have been making for years. I use two pounds of stew meat and an extra clove of garlic. I find that the flour I dredge with is sufficient for thickening the gravy. I brown my meat with the paprika, remove and scrape the "bloom" up from the bottom of the pan, add a tablespoon of butter and a large onion, garlic and some celery (about a cup, diced) and cook till translucent, return the meat to the pan and add the rest of the ingredients. I also use 2 cups of water, 2 cups beef broth and a 1/2 cup of white wine (red will make the potatos pink!). I always use the same dutch oven to brown and bake. Slow oven for a couple of hours or three, this dish is very forgiving of my schedule. I think stew is the most versatile, inexact recipe anyone ever dreamed up and I doubt I have ever made it exactly the same way twice. I only mentioned the things that I do a bit differently, I did use the rest of the ingredients that the contributor used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was not stew. It was soupy and lacked flavor!! I would substitute water for beef broth or a red wine next time. I added more garlic and potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is going to be my go to stew recipe. I'm sure the flavor would have been satisfactory as written but I still changed it a bit. I seasoned the dredging flour with a sprinkle of season salt and oregano and then used the remaining flour at the end to thicken. I sauted the onions and fresh garlic with the beef before adding the beef broth which I used instead of just water and added a splash of red wine in the final stage. It's a real good recipe to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Seasoned the meat before dredging. Added extra veg (celery, carrots & corn) as suggested by others. Brown well for flavour. I used a Hunter gravy package to thicken the broth. Remarkably simple but hearty stew. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A very good stew. I substituted 2 cups of beef stock + 2 cups of water for the 4 cups of water, just to add more flavor. Other changes I made were to add an extra bay leaf and 3 stalks of celery. Instead of regular paprika I used smoked paprika and I used white pepper instead of black pepper. I also took the advice of an earlier review to bring the ingredients to a boil and then to move the pot to a 350 degree oven and cook for two hours. Add the vegetables and then back in the oven for 45 minutes. I really think that was good advice. The meat came out fork tender and the vegetables were delicious. I must say though that I don't feel it served a true six servings, more like four. I think I'll double the recipe the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKY2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Added more veggies and used beef broth. It was very good and easy. Excellent leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States