Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Pretty good but not great. The only thing I did differently was no paprika, I was out, and I don't think that would make or break it. I was looking for a stew without celery and this fit the bill. It is missing something. I may try it with rosemary next time. It's a keeper for sure, thank you for submitting it. This recipe is good as is or using as a starter to add to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This has become a family favorite. Everyone loves it. Best stew recipe I have tried. I did adjust it as a number of others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
good stuff I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
First time around, I made this recipe exactly as is and it was a hit with my family! The second time, I tried to double it exactly but for some reason it just wasn't as tasty. But this instantly became a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sharpsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is a great base for beef stew. There's room to expand upon it and tweak... and yes, as others have said, it can be a bit bland if you don't throw in some beef broth or bouillon or onion soup mix or something. I throw in cabbage and turnips as well, and I toss the onions and garlic in with the browning meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was pretty good, it had all the basics but I made a few changes. I started by making a roux to thicken the sauce and then added the dredged beef to brown. I took others' advice and used beef broth. Instead of corn and carrots I did frozen mixed veggies (because that's what I had on hand) and doubled the garlic. I also used 2 bay leafs and added a medium pinch of dried thyme - not too much though. Turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awsunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a good stew recipe but I was hoping that it would be a little more like a broth instead of the thick stew base. Read the title right!? Well, I was trying to see how it turned out. I still may keep the recipe but remove the flour. Sometimes I like a thick stew base and sometimes I don't. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
The recipe, as is, taste bland and has no beef flavor to be called "beef stew". I've never made it this way, but thought I would give it a try since the rating was so high. There must be a lot of people who have not had truly good beef stew. The one good quality was the tenderness of the beef. I will definately add beef stock as I normally would next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Followed receipe to a tee, would not change a thing. Excellent taste, plenty filling for the whole family. Will definitely add this to my receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added 5 bullion cubes, ketchup and garlic powder and this was so very tasty. I also added the veggies (plus green beans) 30 min after the meat boiled. Cooked app an hour and half and it was very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States