Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This came out great. I made one small substitution and substituted 2 cups of low sodium beef broth for 2 of the water. It's a good basic stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I like this recipe- for me though, too much flour and I personally prefer no corn in my stew- frozen petite peas instead! For quickness I go with either beef broth or French onion soup for the flavoring. The bay leaf is a good addition, beef stew is not the same without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Good recipe added more spice then suggested. Mixed all the spices in the flour mixture then coated the meat and browned it. Added the water then put it in the oven on 325 for 3 hours. Easier then doing it all on the stove top. Served it with yorkshire pudding it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onetimeangel
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I really liked this recipe!! I tripled every thing because I have a large family.My family loved it!! but I do thin I will try it with beef broth next time to give it a little more beefy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very good, i did need to add some beef boulion to this because there just didn't seem be enough flavor to it. After i add it this was very good. I think next time to add to the flavor i will add a can of tomatoes and use less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was the best beef stew recipe I've ever made! I did change a few things though. I actually seasoned my flour with some garlic salt, paprika, onion powder, and black pepper and threw in the beef pieces and shook to coat. I browned it in canola oil since I didn't have shortening. I then added half water and half beef broth. I only used half of the liquid that was originally called for because I didn't want to cook down all of the liquid. Whenn I got ready to do my potatoes and carrots, I added the other half. I also added extra worstershire sauce, 2tbs if done as is (I like lots of flavor and it wasn't overpowering) I ommited the corn, and instead added celery. I didn't need to use extra corn starch or flour, it was plenty thick when finished. I cooked the meat for an hour and a half and the potatoes and carrots 35 minutes,a and lastly the onions and celery an additional 15 minutes. The potatoes were a little over cooked, so you might want to lower the heat or cook for about 20-25 minutes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Really nice recipe :))) i didnt have shortening so i used butter, amd i added some celery,too. and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Bravo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a great stew! Very filling. The only thing I would say is that this could use more than 1 pound of meat, and possibly additional seasonings/flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great beef stew recipe. I added some beef broth to it, we don't like our stew so thick, but a marvelous "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good recipe! Loved the flavor. I adjusted it some (added more vegetables). I also didn't need the flour or cornstarch-it was plenty thick enough. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States