Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I'm rating this, based on the recipe as it's written. It's awful, lol. However, it is 100% salvagable. Definately substitute the water with beef broth (I did two cans of vegetable broth and two beef) I added an additional cup of merlot, 3 bay leaves, and some thyme. Rather than simmer in the oven, I transfered the meat to the crockpot after had browned it. Also, I added some fresh minced garlic to the meat while is was browing, and it was great. By cooking in the crockpot, I found that by the time I added the potatoes and let them cook for a good hour or so, the starch from them thickened up the stew just right. I added salt and pepper to taste, and a little more garlic the last 30 minutes or so, and it was really good. But this definately needed some doctoring up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
The best beef stew we've ever had! I've made many stews, so I know what we like and dislike in it. I omitted the worchestire sauce because it just overpowers the other flavors and we really don't care for it. I used 1/2 water & 1/2 beef broth. I also seasoned the meat/flour with blk pepper, seasoning salt, garlic powder, paprika, and onion powder then saved the leftover flour to thicken the stew with. After browning the meat, I added enough water and scraped up the bits on the bottom of the pan for added flavor, then added all the broth & water, onions and celery. For added flavor, I added thyme, rosemary, extra bay leaf and extra seasonings. I suggest when you cut up the beef, potatoes and carrots, try to make them all the same sizes and not so big. At the last hr, added the veggies, corn & peas and last minute, added the leftover seasoned flour (which was mixed w/h20 so it doesn't get lumpy when added to the hot stew). Served this with french bread and everyone loved it! This will now be our staple beef stew. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've been making this recipe for several years, and it is great as is, but I always tweak recipes because my hubby and I love dishes with lots of flavor. I add cumin, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, and paprika to the flour before dredging the beef. Instead of shortening, I use butter and olive oil. I also substitute 2 beef bouillion cubes for the salt and add 1/4 C ketchup, 1 tsp oregano, and an extra bay leaf. This is a perfect fall or winter meal with homemade bread...definitely one of my favorite comfort foods! This can easily be made in the crockpot so it can be ready when you come home from work. Just brown the beef before adding to the crockpot, add all the rest of the ingredients, and cook on low for 6 hours. Before serving, add the 1/4 C flour paste and heat on high for 15 min to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I started making this back several years ago and usually make it at least once a month. It is a great base for a stew but it definitely needs alot of flavor added to it. For added flavor and also for thickening purposes....try it this way and I am sure you will not be dissapointed. When the meet is browned and you have added all the basic things such as your water...onions..garlic, etc....let it simmer for about 15 minutes and then try adding.....a few tablespoons each of ketchup...barbecue sauce...A-1 sauce...and chili sauce. Also add some extra worstershire sauce and a tablespoon or so of sugar. I know...it may sound a little strange but believe me...you will love the results! When all that is added...let simmer for about 45 minutes and then add your vegetables and simmer until tender. Do it just this way and I guarantee you that will continue to from now on. The flavors are amazing and it makes this a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was great...my husband loved it, but I did use some variations. First, I dredged the stew meat in flour, season salt pepper and paprika, then I browed it in a pan with olive oil and minced garlic. I added 4 cups of water but also added "Better than Base" which is basically a beef boullion. Everything else is pretty much the same with the exception of adding corn, I substituted celery. It was great, but next time I'm not adding worcestershire sauce, and also watch how long you cook the meat, I cooked it a little too long and it started to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This stew is indeed great! It doesnt need the long cooking time to get the desired flavour as well. All it took was an hour and a half. I didnt use shortening. replaced it with normal oil. My boyfriend loves it. I made extra and he brought it to work today and his co-workers tried it and they all think that it is great. Somehow, it tasted better when you leave it over night. My suggestion is cook it the day before you want to eat it and store it in the fridge overnight. You will be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is THE BEST beef stew recipe. It's a staple at our house- I make it at least two or three times a month! I did change a few things (mostly on advice from other reviewers). I add two cans of diced tomatoes and two cans of beef broth instead of the water, skip the corn and paprika, and double the worcestershire sauce. I also add 1 tsp of parsley and 1/8 tsp of red pepper for a little kick. Sometimes I add a can of garbanzo beans and a can of italian green beans, too. Gives it lots of flavor and texture. Yum! And perfect for this cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Thank you so much! I have tried several recipes in an attempt to obtain the same great stew a friend of mine had made. This was excellent! My husband was very impressed. I followed the recipe with the following changes: 2 lbs meat, 6 cups water, 6 beef bouilon cubes, used vegetable oil instead of shortening, no salt, no bay leaf, no corn, added 1 stalk celery & 1 teas rosemary. I mixed 6 tbls cornstarch with 6 tbls water & added it to stew & got the perfect consistency of "old fashioned stew". I made this last night & had to have some of the leftovers for breakfast this a.m. & I usually don't eat any breakfast. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Awesome Stew Joanne! This was oh-so-good! I changed the recipe a little, by omitting the corn and adding 2 chopped celery stalks. Also, instead of adding 4 cups water, I added 6 cups water seasoned with 4 beef bouillon cubes. This made a wonderfully seasoned stew! I will DEFINITELY be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourfleed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
WOW...this was really good. This is the first time I made a Beef Stew and I was very nervous about making it. I followed the recipe however instead of water i used 6 cups of beef broth instead and added some oregano and basil for the spices. I also used green onions. I boiled the potatoes before i added to the pot. This took off 30 minutes of the cook time. My husband could not stop raving about how good the stew tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States