Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I liked this beefy stew. I used 2 cups beef broth and 2 cups water but otherwise followed the recipe as directed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Mmmmm! Started late, so I didn't have time to do stew in a slowcooker, but really liked stove top results better as everything was less mushy with more defined tastes. I added onion and garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and salt-free Spike to the flour to toss w/ meat, added one can of salt free diced tomatoes, and celery in with the veggies, but otherwise followed recipe pretty closely. At the last minute, couldn't resist adding on some bisquick dumplings (found on one of the other stew recipes) but they didn't cook up as well as I hoped... This is a WONDERFUL comfort food for a cold evening!! Warms up the hous and your belly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Good basic stew recipe. I used canola oil instead of shortening. Does not need additional flour for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was great. I only gave it four stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I seasoned it to our liking instead. I have to say though, that the end result was perfect and the premise of the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I too made a few changes...you know-to make it my own. Used Olive oil to brown the meat, used mostly beef broth, added a can of chopped stewed tomatoes, 3 stalks of chopped celery, left out the worchestshire sauce, and then about 15 minutes before we eat I cut refrigerator biscuits into 1/4's and drop individually into the stew to make dumplings...mmm, just like moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edie Nichols

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Outstanding! This recipe turned out fantastic. I followed the recipe step by step the only changes I made was to eliminate the bay leaf because I didnt have one. I added frozen peas and corn at the end and a teaspoon of smokey tabassco sauce and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Macy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars. This a great basic stew recipe but with a few small changes I think it's even better. Like others, I used beef broth in place of the water. Makes it much richer. I increased the worchestershire to 1 1/2 Tablespoons, increased garlic to 3 cloves, and then added 3/4 t of thyme, basil leaves and 1/8 t black pepper. I added 1 can (14oz) diced tomatoes, undrained. Other than these changes everything else was unchanged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is the first time I've made a stew without using a crockpot, & it was delicious! Like the other reviews I've read, I used 6 cups of beef broth & added some Italian seasoning. It was perfect for a rare snowy day in Houston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Wow! This was the best stew I ever had! I did make some changes that the other reviews suggested which I believe made the stew more flavorful. I used beef broth instead of water, and did not add the corn. I also did not thicken the stew with the cornstarch mixture. My family perfers a "bothy" stew. I did dredge the stew meat in flour, salt, pepper and paprika before browning - and I used two pounds of meat because that is what I had on hand. Normally I don't review recipes if I made changes with but this was such a great stew especially if you are looking for a recipe without a tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great flavour, i added a bit more of flavour with beef stock powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States