Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Bland as all get out, sorry. Beef stew needs to be hearty, beefy and tasty. This just didn't cut it for my family. It is too watery, and needs to cook longer to tenderize the meat. You don't need to remove the meat when thickening - just use a flour shaker to shake flour into the stew until your desired consistency. I don't add corn, but have added green beans, which the family prefers. The key to a good beef stew is a thick, hearty sauce/broth - it shouldn't be soup like, which is what we got with this. I had to doctor it up quite a bit (spices) and cook it much longer to get it where we like it (thick and hearty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
It's just sort of a bland stew. Not even a potato or two in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was a good recipe overall but I did find some tweaking necessary. I used a carton of beef broth in place of the water and was very glad I did, I will keep that change when making in the future. I think it would have been pretty tasteless otherwise. If using broth (vs. stock that does not have added salt) you do need to omit the 1 tsp of salt or it will be too salty, just salt to taste at the end if it needs a little more. I also upped the pepper to 1/2 tsp and omitted the corn, just for personal preference. I may add some shiitake mushrooms next time. But otherwise the seasonings and directions were great! Will definitely make again with those adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Minor changes based on others' feedback. Shook cubes in a bag with flour, onion, garlic powders, pepper. Used baby carrots (cut in two). Doubled the liquid. Overall, it was very good. Am wondering if I'd simmered the meat 1.5 to 2 hrs if it would have been more tender. Healthy and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very good recipe, I encorporated other items...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Modeste
Living In: Norman Wells, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was the best stew I've ever made! My hubby LOVED it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We really enjoyed this stew. I increased the spices a bit and added an extra bay leaf, beef bouillon, and garlic. I also didn't take the meat out when I thickened the stew (too lazy), and it still came out great. My only complaint was it didn't make a lot. Next time I'll double the recipe...it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I scaled this up to 75 for an event and it turned out great. My only change was omitting the corn and bay leaves and adding green beans and some broccoli about 30 minutes before serving it. Everyone love having something cooked from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was solo good. I did have to add water as it cooked and the stew thickened up on it's own. Was great! Will use recipe for many yrs to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
reduce the water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Playa Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States