Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
DONNAINNC made a great suggestion Jan 7 2004, when she suggested adding things like BBQ sauce, ketchup and the like! WOW! I have been slow cooking my stews for so long (and waiting all day), this took about two hours, and the taste far outweighs the old way I did things!! I used to add onion soup mix to my slow cooker, and it wasn't bad, but this taste is super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Good. But not excellent. I took the advice of Donnainnc and added the extra flavors she suggested and was greatly disappointed. It was very, very spicy (and this coming from someone that eats peppers plain and handles spice nicely). I had to hurry and cook an alternative meal for my children. Most of this stew was left uneaten. Please don't add the ingredients she/ he suggests. You lose the stew flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
For years I made a similar stew in a pressure cooker. This stew was even better. I took the advice of many reviewers with a couple other twists, and it turned out perfectly. I browned the beef dredged in flour, salt and pepper/garlic seasoning in olive oil then added chopped onion and 3 garlic cloves until soft. I combined water, 1/2 cup of powdered french onion beef stock, Worcestershire sauce, 3 bay leaves and beef mixture in a covered bean pot and placed in oven at 350 degrees for about 2-1/2 hours. Added potatoes, carrots, a sliced sweet potato and 3 sliced celery stalks & baked for about another hour. Beef fell apart and vegetables were perfectly cooked. The additional seasonings and stock combined with flour made a perfect, flavorful gravy. To thicken a little more I added a small amount of instant potato flakes as someone suggested. Excellent on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
As others have indicated, this is a good starter, but needs more attention to flavor. I am "rounding up" to 4 stars, from more of a 3.5 feel for the "as written" version. The "fixes" for the basic included tomatoes, beef broth for half the liquid. But I was glad to find this starter recipe...because it has been quite a while since having made beef stew, and this definitely pointed me in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
THIS WAS MY VERY FIRST BEEF STEW AND I CAN SAY THAT IT CAME OUT GREEAAT! I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE ALMOST TO THE T. BUT NEXT TIME I MIGHT SWITCH IT UP A LITTLE DIFFERENT, SINCE I NOW KNOW WHAT I AM DOING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
We loved this. Everything about it was just plain tasty. It takes a little work, but all in all GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie_Edenfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was easey and tastes great. I didn't change a thing. I followed the directions all the way. It rocked! Served it with rice from the steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
good stew... my usual go to stew recipe. I dont usually change a thing except to add parsnips or sweet potatoes instead of carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svanderw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I love it. I also add other ingredients such Lawry's and it tastes delicious. Thanks for the recipe. Takes long to cook but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe except for the corn kernels since i had none, but I doubt that would make a significant difference in taste. The stew was okay, my family did not rave about it so it got three stars. That said, I have tried four of the top rated stew recipes here and have yet to find anything we enjoy enough to prepare again. I'll continue trying till I find the right one for our families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States