Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was definitely wary of this recipe as the ingredients and seasonings didn't seem to be extensive. It turned out GREAT! I used the 4 cups of water called for and added 4 beef boullion cubes. I doubled the amount of beef, garlic, potatoes and carrots and added celery and peas as well as the corn (peas and corn thrown in before serving). With the flour used to brown the meat I added 1 tsp. original Mrs. Dash. The leftover seasoned flour I used to thicken the stew at the end of cooking time...The meat was VERY tender and all the flavors tasted awesome together! I will definitely make this again and will most likely never make beef stew in a crock pot again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is an excellent stew recipe, pretty much as is. I did add some beef base to the water since I didn't have any broth, and using water for anything like this is not what I would normally do. I have been making stew for 40 years but decided to see if there was a better way than mine. This is very similar to my own and now I know why. Oh, one more addition at the end - a nit of "Kitchen Bouquet" to add a bit more richness and deepen the color of the gravy. Make dumplings for the top and it is heaven. If you don't like the dumplings, serve it over biscuits. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe. Instead of adding beef bullion or beef broth I just added about 3/4 pound more beef since the first time I made the recipe there didn't seem to be enough beef in it. I also added an additional tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce the second time around and that seemed to flavor up the recipe a bit. Also, I added A LOT more vegetables than the recipe indicated, with the addition of PEAS! The peas added a kind of sweet tone to the stew. Another thing I did on the 3rd making was brown the beef until it was dark brown which deepened the overall color of the stew. What should be noted: Do not cook this recipe in a slow-cooker unless you have 7 hours wait time to tender up the beef. This recipe works best stove-top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I thought this stew was pretty bland. not real hearty tasting. I followed the others reviews but it still needs more of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This turned out great! I did sub in beef stock for the water and instead of corn - I used peas because that's what we had in the freezer. I did not remove the meat before I thickened it. This was a wonderful dish on a cold wintry night! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I browned the meat with olive oil. It is the best stem I made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
my family loved this stew! we will be making again. I added a little red wine just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some small adjustments for more flavour. I replaced the water for some low sodium beef broth. I also replaced the shortening for some oil, just my preference. And I skipped the Worcestershire sauce and corn because I didn't have any. The key to this recipe is to simmer for the full 2 hours and the meat just melts in your mouth! I have put this recipe in my box to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelia
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummmm! I made it in my pressure cooker. Perfect week night dinner in a half hour cooking time! Loved it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDIKKEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
use beef bullion and don't overcook the beef before...it will cook in the stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States