Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We LOVE this recipe! Already made it several times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randerson26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Let's face it--it's all in the broth when you're ready to serve. I simmered in beef broth, added extra garlic, almost all the seasonings others had suggested (celery, a little cumin, basil), and it turned out "biscuit-soppin'" good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed the suggestions and used half beef broth and half water. Tasted great for dinner and even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I would really suggest adding a small can of tomato paste! It's a great secret ingredient and really adds a fantastic subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a good basic recipe to build on and much like a recipe I have been making for years. I use two pounds of stew meat and an extra clove of garlic. I find that the flour I dredge with is sufficient for thickening the gravy. I brown my meat with the paprika, remove and scrape the "bloom" up from the bottom of the pan, add a tablespoon of butter and a large onion, garlic and some celery (about a cup, diced) and cook till translucent, return the meat to the pan and add the rest of the ingredients. I also use 2 cups of water, 2 cups beef broth and a 1/2 cup of white wine (red will make the potatos pink!). I always use the same dutch oven to brown and bake. Slow oven for a couple of hours or three, this dish is very forgiving of my schedule. I think stew is the most versatile, inexact recipe anyone ever dreamed up and I doubt I have ever made it exactly the same way twice. I only mentioned the things that I do a bit differently, I did use the rest of the ingredients that the contributor used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was not stew. It was soupy and lacked flavor!! I would substitute water for beef broth or a red wine next time. I added more garlic and potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is going to be my go to stew recipe. I'm sure the flavor would have been satisfactory as written but I still changed it a bit. I seasoned the dredging flour with a sprinkle of season salt and oregano and then used the remaining flour at the end to thicken. I sauted the onions and fresh garlic with the beef before adding the beef broth which I used instead of just water and added a splash of red wine in the final stage. It's a real good recipe to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Seasoned the meat before dredging. Added extra veg (celery, carrots & corn) as suggested by others. Brown well for flavour. I used a Hunter gravy package to thicken the broth. Remarkably simple but hearty stew. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A very good stew. I substituted 2 cups of beef stock + 2 cups of water for the 4 cups of water, just to add more flavor. Other changes I made were to add an extra bay leaf and 3 stalks of celery. Instead of regular paprika I used smoked paprika and I used white pepper instead of black pepper. I also took the advice of an earlier review to bring the ingredients to a boil and then to move the pot to a 350 degree oven and cook for two hours. Add the vegetables and then back in the oven for 45 minutes. I really think that was good advice. The meat came out fork tender and the vegetables were delicious. I must say though that I don't feel it served a true six servings, more like four. I think I'll double the recipe the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKY2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Added more veggies and used beef broth. It was very good and easy. Excellent leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States