Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is awesome!!! I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I seasoned the flour with black pepper, cumin, paprika & garlic salt. I sweated the onion and garlic in the pot with the meat once it was browned, then added 5 cups of water with 4 crushed bouillion cubes, worchestershire sauce, oregano and an extra bay leaf. I substituted peas for the corn. I also added the tblsp of cornstarch per the recipe at the end.....it was completely delicious and my husband can't wait till I make it again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A HUGE hit at last night's party. Covered the beef in salt/pepper/half tsp of cumin before dredging it in flour. Sauteed the onions and garlic in 2 tsp of tomato paste before deglazing the pot with beef broth (instead of water). Added 1 cup of red wine (cabernet) to the pot with the carrots and potatoes. Two bay leaves were definitely needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Loved this. I also only cooked the meat for an hour and it was very tender. I could cut the pieces with my spoon. I put all the spices, and then some, people talked about in their reviews...yummy. I sopped up the juice with my bread. My soup was thick enough for me that I didn't need to add flour or corn starch. Definitely will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very good with the following changes. Dredged beef in flour seasoned with teaspoon of seasoning salt and 1/8 t pepper. Browned in EVOO. Deglazed the pan with water. Returned meat to pan and added 4 beef bouillon cubes, onion, garlic, bay, teaspoon of rosemary and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. Left the paprika and worcestershire sauce out because I didn't have any. Cooked as directed. Also subbed green beans and peas for the corn. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Good recipe, however it requires stirring occasionally and an additional 2 cups of water (and therefore more seasoning). I ran out of water while simmering the beef after just 1 hour. Like other reviewers, the meat didn't need 2 hours. Mine took just one before the meat was tender. Also, removing the meat before adding the flour thickening mixture was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Oh, wow, this is the BEST beef stew ever! My husband and son had two bowls each. The only thing I did was add tiny diced celery. Yum! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mejia-Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good basic stew recipe! I used beef broth instead of the water which added a nice flavor. Remember not to boil but simmer the meat. Makes it much more tender. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canterbury, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This turned out oh-so-yummy! I mixed salt, pepper, and cumin into the flour before I dredged smaller, bite-size pieces (I have younger kids) of round steak in it. Then I browned the beef in oil, slipped in a couple tbls of butter, and added some minced garlic and chopped onion. I followed others recommendations by adding beef bouillon to half of the water and then simmering for 2 hours before I stirred in the vegetables. I turned up the heat a little and used the remaining flour to thicken it up. I will keep this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great started recipe! I made a few tweaks though, but kept the meat and veggie ratio the same pretty much. I added a few tsp of tomato paste to the onions and browned beef, I didn't have paprika, so I added cayenne and more pepper. I also added a couple chicken bullion packets and some canned corn and frozen peas. I added the potatoes earlier like another reader suggested and it was the perfect consistency! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We LOVE this recipe! Already made it several times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randerson26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States