Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is awesome!!! I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I seasoned the flour with black pepper, cumin, paprika & garlic salt. I sweated the onion and garlic in the pot with the meat once it was browned, then added 5 cups of water with 4 crushed bouillion cubes, worchestershire sauce, oregano and an extra bay leaf. I substituted peas for the corn. I also added the tblsp of cornstarch per the recipe at the end.....it was completely delicious and my husband can't wait till I make it again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A HUGE hit at last night's party. Covered the beef in salt/pepper/half tsp of cumin before dredging it in flour. Sauteed the onions and garlic in 2 tsp of tomato paste before deglazing the pot with beef broth (instead of water). Added 1 cup of red wine (cabernet) to the pot with the carrots and potatoes. Two bay leaves were definitely needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Loved this. I also only cooked the meat for an hour and it was very tender. I could cut the pieces with my spoon. I put all the spices, and then some, people talked about in their reviews...yummy. I sopped up the juice with my bread. My soup was thick enough for me that I didn't need to add flour or corn starch. Definitely will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very good with the following changes. Dredged beef in flour seasoned with teaspoon of seasoning salt and 1/8 t pepper. Browned in EVOO. Deglazed the pan with water. Returned meat to pan and added 4 beef bouillon cubes, onion, garlic, bay, teaspoon of rosemary and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. Left the paprika and worcestershire sauce out because I didn't have any. Cooked as directed. Also subbed green beans and peas for the corn. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Good recipe, however it requires stirring occasionally and an additional 2 cups of water (and therefore more seasoning). I ran out of water while simmering the beef after just 1 hour. Like other reviewers, the meat didn't need 2 hours. Mine took just one before the meat was tender. Also, removing the meat before adding the flour thickening mixture was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Oh, wow, this is the BEST beef stew ever! My husband and son had two bowls each. The only thing I did was add tiny diced celery. Yum! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mejia-Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good basic stew recipe! I used beef broth instead of the water which added a nice flavor. Remember not to boil but simmer the meat. Makes it much more tender. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canterbury, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This turned out oh-so-yummy! I mixed salt, pepper, and cumin into the flour before I dredged smaller, bite-size pieces (I have younger kids) of round steak in it. Then I browned the beef in oil, slipped in a couple tbls of butter, and added some minced garlic and chopped onion. I followed others recommendations by adding beef bouillon to half of the water and then simmering for 2 hours before I stirred in the vegetables. I turned up the heat a little and used the remaining flour to thicken it up. I will keep this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great started recipe! I made a few tweaks though, but kept the meat and veggie ratio the same pretty much. I added a few tsp of tomato paste to the onions and browned beef, I didn't have paprika, so I added cayenne and more pepper. I also added a couple chicken bullion packets and some canned corn and frozen peas. I added the potatoes earlier like another reader suggested and it was the perfect consistency! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We LOVE this recipe! Already made it several times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randerson26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States