Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Pretty good but not great. The only thing I did differently was no paprika, I was out, and I don't think that would make or break it. I was looking for a stew without celery and this fit the bill. It is missing something. I may try it with rosemary next time. It's a keeper for sure, thank you for submitting it. This recipe is good as is or using as a starter to add to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This has become a family favorite. Everyone loves it. Best stew recipe I have tried. I did adjust it as a number of others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
good stuff I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
First time around, I made this recipe exactly as is and it was a hit with my family! The second time, I tried to double it exactly but for some reason it just wasn't as tasty. But this instantly became a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sharpsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is a great base for beef stew. There's room to expand upon it and tweak... and yes, as others have said, it can be a bit bland if you don't throw in some beef broth or bouillon or onion soup mix or something. I throw in cabbage and turnips as well, and I toss the onions and garlic in with the browning meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was pretty good, it had all the basics but I made a few changes. I started by making a roux to thicken the sauce and then added the dredged beef to brown. I took others' advice and used beef broth. Instead of corn and carrots I did frozen mixed veggies (because that's what I had on hand) and doubled the garlic. I also used 2 bay leafs and added a medium pinch of dried thyme - not too much though. Turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awsunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a good stew recipe but I was hoping that it would be a little more like a broth instead of the thick stew base. Read the title right!? Well, I was trying to see how it turned out. I still may keep the recipe but remove the flour. Sometimes I like a thick stew base and sometimes I don't. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
The recipe, as is, taste bland and has no beef flavor to be called "beef stew". I've never made it this way, but thought I would give it a try since the rating was so high. There must be a lot of people who have not had truly good beef stew. The one good quality was the tenderness of the beef. I will definately add beef stock as I normally would next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Followed receipe to a tee, would not change a thing. Excellent taste, plenty filling for the whole family. Will definitely add this to my receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added 5 bullion cubes, ketchup and garlic powder and this was so very tasty. I also added the veggies (plus green beans) 30 min after the meat boiled. Cooked app an hour and half and it was very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States