Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Fantastic stew! I made a few changes - substituted the water for beef broth and added 1/4 cup of red wine. My husband can't eat onions so I added the paprika, salt, pepper and onion powder to the flour to dredge the meat with, but also added the paprika, pepper (no more salt) and onion powder to the beef broth and wine to simmer for 2 hours. The veggies - I also added celery and green beans and substituted the white potatoes for sweet potatoes. I also made fresh bread in my bread maker to go with it. This is a fabulous hearty stew!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this last night. My husband loved it... he said it reminded him of when he was younger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I love this recipe! My family loves it as well. Awesome thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerville, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Okay so this recipe is in my crockpot as we speak & I keep taking tastes of it & I can't stop! I did dredge the meat in flour but to the flour I added seasoning salt, salt, pepper & the paprika. I dredged the meat & browned it in olive oil & garlic. Then I dumped that into my crock pot & added the 4c. of water but to the water I added 2 beef bullion cubes & a tsp. of browning sauce. I added some dried onion flakes because I dont' like big chunks of onion & I didn't have any real onion on hand. Then I added the spices: a little more paprika, seasoning salt, garlic salt, salt & pepper. I didn't add the bay leaf because I didn't have any. After cooking the meat & the juice for about 3 hours, I added choppped carrots & celery. I cooked those for about an hour & then added the potatoes & cooked for another hour. I didn't think it needed to be thickened because the starch from the potatoes seemed to help it. This was delicious!! And perfect on a rainy day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
It was Okay... I use a different recipe that uses tomato paste to help thicken the broth. But overall, this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonneysrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Used olive oil instead of shortening as other reviewers suggested; used beef broth/bouillon cubes instead of water; simply cut the onion into eighths; and, after browning the meat (which I sprinkled with garlic powder and fresh ground pepper before flouring) in the cast iron casserole dish, added the broth, onions, splash of red wine, about 1/4 cup catsup, about 1 cup of baby bella mushrooms that I chopped really fine in the processor (as hubby won't eat them if he can see them), and cooked in the oven at 225 for most of the afternoon. Then added shredded carrots and sliced potatoes, along with a can of cream of chicken and an envelope of brown gravy powder mix and put back into the oven at 300 for another hour or so. Added a drained and rinsed can of Lesueur early peas just before serving. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was really good but only with the changes I made. I added 4 cups of Beef Broth, 1 cup of Tomato Juice, 1 cup of water. I ended up throwing the spices in with the flour in a ziploc bag with the meat to coat. The spices I used was paprika, organo, seasoning salt, and garlic salt. And I also added about 3-4 Tbsp. of Hickory Smoke BBQ Sauce. I then added a few stalks of celery instead of corn. It was delicious! My boyfriend raved about it, and the leftovers were gone the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calera, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I don't think anyone could possibly screw up this recipe. A great base that you can spice up as much as you want. I used leftover pot roast instead of stew beef. Started by adding onion, garlic and celery to canola oil in pan, then once those were softened, added the chopped up pot roast that I had tossed in flour. Used beef broth instead of water. Continued as directed after that, but as suggested by other reviewers added a tablespoon each of chili sauce, ketchup, and a teaspoon of sugar. Also added about a cup of leftover gravy. Because I used pot roast, the meat fell apart in the stew which I think makes it taste better! But I think you could do just about anything to this wonderful basic recipe and it would taste great. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
this recipe was amazing! i didnt have to cook the meat the whole 2 hours though. my family loves peas so we added peas to it as well and served it over fresh biscuits. We will definitely be making this again and more of it. we had nho left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe once it was modified taking in mind other reviewers' suggestions. I mixed the flour with spices before dredging the meat in it. I browned it in sunflower oil instead of shortening. I added bouillon cubes to the water for extra flavor, and I added some ketchup and chili sauce as well. I didn't cook the meat the full 2 hrs., but maybe it came out so tender anyway b/c I used a more expensive cut of meat. For veggies, I used not only potatoes and carrots, but also sweet potatoes, squash, eggplant, and cabbage for extra vitamins and roughage. I'd added a spoonful of sugar early on, based on another reviewer's recommendation, but b/c the sweet potatoes added natural sweetness, I'll omit this next time. It didn't need any thickening in the end, so I just finished it off with a can of green beans and can of corn. DH and I both loved it! I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe to tweak as we like! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States