Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Good with some changes! Used three pounds of meat! Added also three cans of tomato soup and some merlot! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYGIRL30S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
a good basic beef stew recipe. liked the paprika addtion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this and my husband and I absolutely loved it! It was simple and had a lot of flavor. I did substitute the water with beef broth. Usually we would have leftovers for days but today, there aren't any! Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissChievous
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great BASIC recipe that needs a lot of pepping up to be excellent. I added a can of chopped tomatoes, chili powder, tomato paste, a splash of red wine, and changed the water to beef stock. I also added more garlic and Worcester sauce, some dried Mediterranean spices, and 3 stalks of celery. Once I did all that, it was delicious. This is a good basic recipe that can be added to as desired. I'll make again but with my own changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This stew is delicious! I have made it twice and both times it turned out great! The first time I followed the recipe and the second time I used the crock pot. I browned the meat on the stove then added everything according to the directions to the crockpot. I add 1 can of Beef broth just to make it have a little more juice. When it says to remove the beef and make the soup thicker with flour, I remove everything and then scoop some juice into a bowl and add about 4 Tbl. of flour, whisk then pour back in and stir. Add back in the meat and veggies, then continue to cook on High until the potatoes are cooked through. I used Red potatoes instead of Idaho and I think I let it cook for about 4-5 hours on High or until the potatoes were to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Good! Nice and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this recipe "as is", and it was great! The meat was tender, the veges were not mush. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe, though I did make some modifications. I used 4 cups of beef broth and only about a cup of water. I added about 3x the garlic as well as some celery. Between the broth and the potatoes no thickening agent was necessary. Before browing the meat I dredged them in flour mixed with garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. That gave the meat wonderful flavor when it came time to eat! Solid recipe that will become a family staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
It is easy and good. You can't be not happy about something like tihs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaterhune

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. It really reminded me of the stew my mom used to make me, I think she must have also put corn in hers. So that was nice. I just made a few minor changes... used olive oil to brown the meat instead of shortening, added 2 cloves of garlic while meat was browning, omitted onions, added another bay leaf, and added 2 stalks of celery, chopped. Also, I used instant potato flakes to thicken it up instead of cornstarch (I think it's much easier and gets better results). We loved it! Served with french bread to mop up the sauce... perfect for a cold, snowy night. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States