Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WHIP IT UP KITCHEN
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very basic. So I added chopped celery and sliced zucchini and squash with the potatoes and tripled the onion and carrots. I sirred the beef in canola oil and flour then put the contents into my crock pot with 1 can creamed celery soup and 2 cans of water and added 1 8 oz can tomato pure and 2 cloves minced garlic , pinch of fresh oregano and 2 fresh leaves basil. I cooked this on high for 5 hours then added veggies for the last few hours. Made drop cheddar cheese and herb biscuits and served with room temperature butter, Not like Grammies, but very yummy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIP IT UP KITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
very bland...had to add alot more spices plus some corn for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was not impressed with this recipe. I don't have the expertise to beef up a blah recipe. I did read some of the reviews after I had already gave up. I will try to make it again but I will definitely use ideas from review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I used 2 lbs of Stew meat and seasoned it with Chicago Steak seasoning and Sage, and Thick style Worcestershire Sauce.I used fat free,low sodium Beef broth.Cut up 3 carrots and Celery stalks. Cut up 2 Large Red Potatoes in 1"X 1" cubes.Added 1/2 Cup Hearty Red Wine to the broth and Bay leaf while stewing prior to adding the Celery,Potatoes and Carrots.Once the meat was tender added the vegs. and cooked for an additional 40 Minutes. Was delicious. Served with a Green leafy Salad and Red Wine with crusty bread. Great comfort food for a chilly day. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Good base stew but I had to add a lot more seasoning to it. It was bland without it. I also ended up having to thicken it up more. I took the advice of one of the previous reviews and used instant potato flakes and it worked out great. I'll make this again with the changes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelGabel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Love this recipe, its simple and tastes great. For anyone having problems getting the correct thickness, forget about the cornstarch and add potato flakes slowly until you get the desired thickness, it works great and doesn't change the taste since it already contains potatoes. The potato flakes turned mine from soup to thick stew fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great base recipe! I agree with the others that you can certainly spice it up with beef broth, bouillon, thyme, rosemary, mccormick's steak seasoning, garlic - whatever you like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made a variatioon of this recipe and we just loved it. I used 3 small onions, regular mushroom soup and a T. of beef boullion. The secret ingredient was a t. of cocoa and 1/2 t. of instant coffee and then a splash of red wine. It was the best stew I've ever made. I didn't add the cornstrach but made dumplings to enjoy the gravy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
mushroom soup was a nice addition and the mushrooms were big enough for my kids to pick out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I just got done serving this to my family, everyone but the 2 year old loved it! The 2 year old is super picky so it will take about 5 times of serving it before he will even try it. My 4 yr old ate it all by himself, sometimes we have to beg him to eat, but not this stew! I did add 1/4 tsp of dried minced garlic, which would be about 2 medium cloves, but that is becuase I had 3 lbs of meat instead of just the 1 1/2 the recipe calls for, and I also used 4 TBS of oil instead of just 2 due to the amount of meat I used. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States