Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was fantastic! I did make a few modifications, however. I put the 4 cups of water, but I also threw in 2 cubes of beef bouillion with it. I added a splash of sherry, a few squeezes of ketchup, frozen peas and 3 potatoes. With those changes, this was the perfect stew. Served with crescent rolls and we all were in heaven! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was OK, but WAY too watery for a stew. I only used 3 cups of water, and thickened it up with more flour at the end of cooking and it was still not as thick as I would like stew to be. I may make this again but will use less water and will probably add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I love this site because of the reviews, this is my first contribution so here goes: This stew is GREAT! As far as I can tell, its the same as my mom's recipe, (God rest her soul), that I somehow lost. The only changes I made were adding salt and pepper to the beef chunks before I breaded them in the flour, I added chunks of potato and I used canned beef broth instead of water. For those of you who find the soup too thin, make sure you use plenty of flour on the beef, and its OK to let a little extra flour sorta fall into the pan as you are browning the beef, then try to get it all into the pot and it will thicken the broth as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very easy recipe. Can't say I followed it to a "T", since I never do. Threw in whatever spices we had in the cupboard, added a little extra sugar and a little less Worcestershire sauce. It went great with the Beer Bread I made. Husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This beef stew was a hit at my christmas party. I added some vegetable soup mix, but otherwise followed the recipe. I allowed it to cook in the slow cooker for atleast 10 hours, and the meat melted in your mouth. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I was really disappointed at first because I thought it would be one of those "blah" dishes. By the time my husband came for dinner it had cooked all day in the slow cooker. He said, "This is the best beef stew I've ever had- your mom could take some pointers from you!" My mom makes a wonderful beef stew...it was the first time mine was better. I added 1/2 jar Italian pasta sauce to the pot and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great stew, and easy to prepare. I like to also add potatoes, and sometimes fresh mushrooms and cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAGINAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparr, Florida, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The addition of ground cloves made this pleasantly different, however it was more a soup than a stew. I would definitely reduce the beef broth to 3 cups. I cooked this only 4 hrs on high in the crockpot - maybe a longer cooking time would have thickened up the broth a little, but for once the vegetables did not dissintegrate into the broth. I will make this stew again, but I will rotate with other stew recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was great!! I didn't have a slow cooker,used a large pot, just cooked it on low for 2-3 hours, until it was right. I used soy sauce, and only had about 1 1/2 pds of meat so I just "eyed" the rest of the ingredients. You really could add almost ant veggie you wanted to it. I added mushrooms, next time maybe green beans? So warm and yummy on a cold night. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The best of the best. We were still talking about how good it was 2 hours later. I have 3 kids 5,7,and 9 they all had seconds. The only change I made was to add a boulion cube to 2 cups of the water and I did add 3 potatoes. Enjoy this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landsend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States