Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I thought the recipes was great and made a few changes. I added 4 bouillon cubes with the 4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of mushrooms and added 2 medium potatoes two hours into to cooking so the potatoes would not be mushy. In addition, I reserved the remaining flour and used the last two hours of cooking to thicken the broth. My husband and I liked it so well that we didn't have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I took my first crack at stew with this recipe and was very pleased with the results. I loved the combination of spices, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce. I had to use garlic powder and dried onion because I did not have fresh on hand. Also dissolved 2 bouillon cubes in the water for flavor. No Crockpot, so after browning the meat, I brought everything to a boil in a pot on the stove, then turned down to low heat and simmered for 2 hours. I added 3 cubed potatoes during the last half hour of cooking. They came out perfect. I think in the future I might add the carrots a little later as well, as they were a little on the soft side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a good soup recipe. I added corn, two potatoes, and four peices of bacon. Since I didn't have worcestershire sauce so I actually opted for soy sauce and A1 mixture, and it really was good. I made corn bread to go with it and it was a great cold day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out pretty well for me, the only thing i changed was i didnt have any carrots, so i used potatoes in it instead, also 2 cups beef broth and 2 cups water. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Obviously, potatoes must be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe. I only left out the clove because I didn't have any in the house. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkimw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
add potatoes and also add some cornstarch with water to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe. I followed this recipe almost word for word. I only change to things I added potatoes and use beef broth instead of water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I'm not an expert on stews but the medley of this one I thought would please the bunch and it did! I've made this recipe, as is, 3 times! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miteymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Now this is a hearty stew! I have never made stew until attempting this recipe...It was a family hit, even with my picky daughter who claims not to like vegetables had two servings! I tweaked the recipe a bit to satisfy everyone in the family. I added quartered white potatoes, sliced fresh mushrooms and carrots. I only used 1.5 stalks of celery because most of the family is not fond of the taste. I omitted the salt, bay leaves and cloves and used a pouch of Bovril beef bouillion mix for more flavor. I also added a little thyme, onion and garlic powder. The beef was tender and tasty,the vegetables and potatoes were cooked perfectly, and the broth was rich and savory, not watery and soup-like. I saw that other recipes required cornstarch to thicken the broth towards the end of cooking time, but this recipe produced a stew of excellent consistency. I would have taken a picture but this dish didn't last long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States