Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I used beef broth in place of the water and I also added my carrots and potatoes about 2 1/2 hrs into the cooking time to prevent them from being overcooked. My husband enjoyed it! I took some over to my parents house for them to try and now they want me to make them a pot! This is the second recipe by Corwynn that I've tried and both were very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I thought the recipes was great and made a few changes. I added 4 bouillon cubes with the 4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of mushrooms and added 2 medium potatoes two hours into to cooking so the potatoes would not be mushy. In addition, I reserved the remaining flour and used the last two hours of cooking to thicken the broth. My husband and I liked it so well that we didn't have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I took my first crack at stew with this recipe and was very pleased with the results. I loved the combination of spices, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce. I had to use garlic powder and dried onion because I did not have fresh on hand. Also dissolved 2 bouillon cubes in the water for flavor. No Crockpot, so after browning the meat, I brought everything to a boil in a pot on the stove, then turned down to low heat and simmered for 2 hours. I added 3 cubed potatoes during the last half hour of cooking. They came out perfect. I think in the future I might add the carrots a little later as well, as they were a little on the soft side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a good soup recipe. I added corn, two potatoes, and four peices of bacon. Since I didn't have worcestershire sauce so I actually opted for soy sauce and A1 mixture, and it really was good. I made corn bread to go with it and it was a great cold day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out pretty well for me, the only thing i changed was i didnt have any carrots, so i used potatoes in it instead, also 2 cups beef broth and 2 cups water. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Obviously, potatoes must be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe. I only left out the clove because I didn't have any in the house. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkimw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
add potatoes and also add some cornstarch with water to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe. I followed this recipe almost word for word. I only change to things I added potatoes and use beef broth instead of water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I'm not an expert on stews but the medley of this one I thought would please the bunch and it did! I've made this recipe, as is, 3 times! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miteymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States