Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Unbelievably bland. Only changes I made were to add 1 potato and sub broth for 2 cups of the water. I even took the time to flour and brown the beef. Major disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is by far the best beef stew recipe I've ever had. I think the ground cloves are the secret ingredient. I add potatoes but otherwise keep the recipe as is. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l_koke75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I used one lb. of beef instead of two, and added four russet potatoes (cubed). I liked the addition of the lemon juice and the clove. I was on a time crunch so after browning the meat and adding all the other ingredients I just put it in a 375 degree oven for about an hour (stirring half way through). Great meal for a cold or rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I rated this based on what I changed which wasn't too, too much. First, 4 cups water sounded blah so I went 1 1/2 cups beer (Keiths) and 2 cups broth. No cloves or bay leaves. I used onion powder as I had no onions. I doubled Worcestershire sauce because I usually do. The stew is a bit runny. However, the beer makes this taste incredible. I find stews blah but this has helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Flavor was there, but only if you double the spices as other reviewers suggest. I started out following the recipe exactly, but after tasting it after a few hours of cooking it definitely needed more spice. Also added beef bouillon and potatoes. Very watery, so added flour to thicken. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Just made this today with only a couple substitutions - beef broth instead of water and added 3 small potatoes. Very tasty, but next time I will eliminate the cloves and cut the bay leaves in half. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This stew is watery when the directions are followed. I like my stews thick; this just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This amazing! The only change I made was I added 4 tp bouillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Good. For personal preference, we added barley, a little more water, sautéed mushrooms and less beef. Would be great as is, and it was great w our small changes just to lighten it a bit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I live in China at the moment, so most of the herbs and sauces are quite hard to find locally, but even without it is a very hearty warming meal. Extra broccoli and potatoes were a great addition. Some chili flakes and extra pepper helped, along with about 500mL of red wine for some body. I am really looking forward to trying it with all of the spices and sauces I want, but it was still very good and easy to change to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States