Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This is a wonderful stew. Even my fussy husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This receipe has the same ingredients and flavors I remember as a child. I've been looking for similar ones for a while now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
My family loved this stew. I added potatoes right at the beginning rather than making noodles or mashed potatoes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Really good stew! Hubby loved it! I loved being able to put all in slow cooker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is the best stew I've ever made. I added cubed potatoes in the beginning, to make it bigger. To thicken, I took the cover off the slow cooker for the last 30 minutes of cooking on high. Served with french bread it was a very hearty meal. Even my finicky kids and husband loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Very delicious and easy to put together. Great with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I made this stew for my family and my husband and kids said it's the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Very good - I added 4 cups of beef broth in place of the water, and also potatoes. The best beef stew I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This was the best stew I've ever made. I also used 4c. beef broth. I didn't use the bay leaves, paprika or cloves b/c I didn't have them. DH and my children loved it! Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Delicious. Some minor changes to suit my personal tastes: One can beef broth, almost one can burgundy wine, the rest of the can, water. Rather than slicing, I chopped the carrots and celery in bigger chunks so they won't disintegrate in the crockpot and also added 2 big potatoes in 1" cubes. To make up for extra carrots and the potatoes which weren't in the original recipe, I added 1 T soy sauce and additional 1 t worcestershire sauce and more black pepper. I also used only 1/4 of an onion cut in big 2 inch pieces so it wouldn't turn to mush. In the last half hour I added pearl onions. For spices, I followed the recipe and then added sprinkles of cumin, savory, rosemary and parsley. 8-9 hours in the crockpot was just right for 2 lbs meat. It really was a hearty, flavorful meal. P.S. My husband thought this dish was okay. He's not into large chunks of beef in a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States