Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Delicious. Some minor changes to suit my personal tastes: One can beef broth, almost one can burgundy wine, the rest of the can, water. Rather than slicing, I chopped the carrots and celery in bigger chunks so they won't disintegrate in the crockpot and also added 2 big potatoes in 1" cubes. To make up for extra carrots and the potatoes which weren't in the original recipe, I added 1 T soy sauce and additional 1 t worcestershire sauce and more black pepper. I also used only 1/4 of an onion cut in big 2 inch pieces so it wouldn't turn to mush. In the last half hour I added pearl onions. For spices, I followed the recipe and then added sprinkles of cumin, savory, rosemary and parsley. 8-9 hours in the crockpot was just right for 2 lbs meat. It really was a hearty, flavorful meal. P.S. My husband thought this dish was okay. He's not into large chunks of beef in a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is the best stew I've ever made. I added cubed potatoes in the beginning, to make it bigger. To thicken, I took the cover off the slow cooker for the last 30 minutes of cooking on high. Served with french bread it was a very hearty meal. Even my finicky kids and husband loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
My good friend is a wonderful cook and caterer. Her husband said that this was the best beef stew he has ever had which is quite a compliment. Tweeked it a little by chopping up everything in small cubes, addded 2 potatoes,a little cumin, rosemary and parsley, can of diced tomatoes, 1 T. soy, das of hot sauce, frozen peas, didn't have burgandy so used cooking cherry and added frozen peas at the end. Also used half beef broth as the liquid and a pack of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benld, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I use this recipe, but substitute 3-4 small potatoes for the celery, and cook it on the stove on low for 3-4 hours rather than in a slow-cooker. I usually serve it with fresh bread, sliced cheeses and sliced fruit. Great winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. . . with a few changes. Some I took from other reviews - I added soy sauce, used beef broth from bouillon cubes instead of water and added cabbage. I also didn't have bay leaves on hand so those were not in the stew. I also found that the stew was too thin for my taste. So halfway through cooking, I took part of the broth and thickened it as if I was making gravy until it reached a texture I preferred. The final result was great. I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Very good - I added 4 cups of beef broth in place of the water, and also potatoes. The best beef stew I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I love this stew; it is wonderful for frozen snowy days. When I make it I omit the bay leaves and cloves, and add a cup of chopped mushrooms, a leak, a can of garbanzo beans and a can of kidney beans, I also add the leftover flour from dredging to thicken the stew. My family loves it, and we have found that it tastes even better the next day, as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This receipe has the same ingredients and flavors I remember as a child. I've been looking for similar ones for a while now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I made this stew for my family and my husband and kids said it's the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
My family loved this stew. I added potatoes right at the beginning rather than making noodles or mashed potatoes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States