Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was really, really good. But not as good as my mom's. The only thing I did differently was add three cubed russet potatoes, because it's a crime against nature to not have beef stew with potatoes in it. I browned the beef on the stove and just cooked it all in the same pot. It took about 1.5 hours until it was done. I didn't have time for a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was delicious and a great spin on beef stew. I've never added cloves or lemon juice before and it made a wonderful subtle difference. My only changes were braising the vegetables with the beef and adding mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
A very tasty recipe, but the ratio of meat to veggies was too high for me, even though I added a potato and some green beans. Will add even more veggies next time. Hubby requested I leave out the cloves in future. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
NOT FOR KIDS This was an ok stew. It was flavorful without making modifications. Neither my husband nor I were fans of the clove flavor. My kids, very good eaters, did not like it. I will stick with a more basic recipe with traditional seasonings in the future. This I would like to note...I found this recipe last minute and decided to use it based on the 5 star rating without reading the recipe reviews. You should not give a recipe 5 stars if you made 5 adjustments to make it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Hopkins Church

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This stew was very good, though I will be adding potatoes next time I cook it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was a good stew base.. My family liked it but it wasn't the best in my eyes. A little bland...will try again and add more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was not a very good recipe. My husband didn't like the cloves taste in it (neither did I), and there wasn't much to it. It needed potatoes for sure, but that still wouldn't have helped much! I did add some beef bouillion to the water to give it flavor, and had to thicken with corn starch once it was done so that it wasn't completely runny. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I love this stew recipe! I add about a half-cup of red wine and about 2 teaspoons of organic beef stock powder for a little extra flavor. I don't have a crockpot, so I cook it on low on the stove and it still turns out tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
We really liked this recipe. I added a little Kitchen Bouquet to taste and to darken the appearance of the stew. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Owl, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
So great that it dissapeared before I got myself a full helping. Darn guys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States