Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I thought the recipes was great and made a few changes. I added 4 bouillon cubes with the 4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of mushrooms and added 2 medium potatoes two hours into to cooking so the potatoes would not be mushy. In addition, I reserved the remaining flour and used the last two hours of cooking to thicken the broth. My husband and I liked it so well that we didn't have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I took my first crack at stew with this recipe and was very pleased with the results. I loved the combination of spices, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce. I had to use garlic powder and dried onion because I did not have fresh on hand. Also dissolved 2 bouillon cubes in the water for flavor. No Crockpot, so after browning the meat, I brought everything to a boil in a pot on the stove, then turned down to low heat and simmered for 2 hours. I added 3 cubed potatoes during the last half hour of cooking. They came out perfect. I think in the future I might add the carrots a little later as well, as they were a little on the soft side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a good soup recipe. I added corn, two potatoes, and four peices of bacon. Since I didn't have worcestershire sauce so I actually opted for soy sauce and A1 mixture, and it really was good. I made corn bread to go with it and it was a great cold day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out pretty well for me, the only thing i changed was i didnt have any carrots, so i used potatoes in it instead, also 2 cups beef broth and 2 cups water. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Obviously, potatoes must be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe. I only left out the clove because I didn't have any in the house. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkimw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
add potatoes and also add some cornstarch with water to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe. I followed this recipe almost word for word. I only change to things I added potatoes and use beef broth instead of water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I'm not an expert on stews but the medley of this one I thought would please the bunch and it did! I've made this recipe, as is, 3 times! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miteymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Now this is a hearty stew! I have never made stew until attempting this recipe...It was a family hit, even with my picky daughter who claims not to like vegetables had two servings! I tweaked the recipe a bit to satisfy everyone in the family. I added quartered white potatoes, sliced fresh mushrooms and carrots. I only used 1.5 stalks of celery because most of the family is not fond of the taste. I omitted the salt, bay leaves and cloves and used a pouch of Bovril beef bouillion mix for more flavor. I also added a little thyme, onion and garlic powder. The beef was tender and tasty,the vegetables and potatoes were cooked perfectly, and the broth was rich and savory, not watery and soup-like. I saw that other recipes required cornstarch to thicken the broth towards the end of cooking time, but this recipe produced a stew of excellent consistency. I would have taken a picture but this dish didn't last long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States