Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Cut vegetables into bigger chunks. Didn't add leaf. Cooked in crock pot on 3 (med) all day. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very Good!! We added potatoes and thickened the broth with flour to make it heartier. Otherwise, followed exactly. Tasted excellent!! We uses shoulder blade steak, and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was really easy and really good. I mostly followed the original recipe, with a few additions based on what my family likes and the suggestions of other reviewers (the addition of potatoes, beef broth, and soy sauce). I cooked it on high for 5-6 hours in the crockpot and it was terrific. I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I was really looking forward to a great tasting stew but didn't care for this at all. It smelled good cooking but it was way too watery. I used beef broth instead of water and that didn't help. It shows potatoes in the PICTURE of the stew but they are not mentioned in the recipe. That makes me wonder if other ingredients were left out as well. I was looking for something different but I guess I'll go back to my own beef stew recipe that yields a nice thick stew instead of a watery soup. I had to buy the cloves just for this recipe and they are not a cheap spice. It was a waste of money for a poor outcome. I'm glad to see so many enjoyed the recipe. I wish I could have been one of them. I'll be passing this stew on to my neighbors. Maybe they will enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made them today and they tasted great!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very good! I added potatoes and used some of the other suggestions, like soy sauce, from others. I am going to add curry powder to what little I have leftover and serve over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Where are teh potatoes in this recipe????I added them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Love this recipe. I seasoned meat with garlic powder, dredged in flour then browned in a little vegetable oil in my pressure cooker for 30 minutes. After releasing pressure, added stew vegetables and other ingredients for additional 7 minutes. Transferred stew into casserole pan the thickened with cornstarch to my liking. YUMMM,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did a different take on this recipe by making it vegetarian (crazy I know!!!). I have to say this stew came out superb! I used the beef substitute from Trader Joe's (I'm sure seitan would work just as well). I sauteed the "meat" with rosemary and butter to start and then added it to the crockpot. The only other change I made was to add 1 vegetable bouillon along with the water. I was amazed on how adaptable this recipe was and how hearty and comforting it turned out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I have a question for "Skillet photo #3" How did you get your stew so dark a delicious looking? I could eat the photo. Do you have any tips or tricks? I do not like a stew with allot of liquid and yours looks like what I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States