Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I have made this many a time. I like to add a turnip and green peppers to liven it up a little. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. . . with a few changes. Some I took from other reviews - I added soy sauce, used beef broth from bouillon cubes instead of water and added cabbage. I also didn't have bay leaves on hand so those were not in the stew. I also found that the stew was too thin for my taste. So halfway through cooking, I took part of the broth and thickened it as if I was making gravy until it reached a texture I preferred. The final result was great. I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Can't say it was the best, but it was OK. I would've liked it a lot thicker. It kind of had a sweet taste to it. Next time I will leave out the sugar and also use some of the other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
My kids loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Great recipe...I will try some of the other suggestions next time. Would like it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This was a great stew. Smelled delicious all day. The things I did differently was omit the garlic and celery (didn't have any) and I added rosemary, corn for the crunch and color and some flour to thicken since I didnt brown the stew meat first. I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I did as others mentioned and added beer, etc...also tried with egg noodles but they were mushy by the time we ate - would serve on them next time but not add them to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
My good friend is a wonderful cook and caterer. Her husband said that this was the best beef stew he has ever had which is quite a compliment. Tweeked it a little by chopping up everything in small cubes, addded 2 potatoes,a little cumin, rosemary and parsley, can of diced tomatoes, 1 T. soy, das of hot sauce, frozen peas, didn't have burgandy so used cooking cherry and added frozen peas at the end. Also used half beef broth as the liquid and a pack of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benld, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I used beef stock in place of half the water and added a pack of beef mushroom soup mix and diced potatoes. My family was getting impatient so near the end I threw everything in a pot and brought it to a boil on the stove and let it simmer and it was done in no time. I'll probably use less cloves next time, but other than that it was a great blend of spices. Simmering it at the end really helped thicken it up too. It was very good on a cold, snowy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Didn't thicken up like a stew at all... more like Beef Soup. Flavor was good and smelled great cooking, but I ended up mixing in rotelle pasta noodles so it wasn't just all broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States