Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crackerjack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
bland. I added garlic and wine----it was still bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe gets 3 stars because as written there is too much veggies to water and it did not thicken (with original amount of water) in my crock pot. So I decided to play with it ,and found with 2 more cups of water and some cornstarch to thicken it this became more of a stew that we are used too.Next time I will add some garlic and a bit more rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
It turned out great! While my mom was on a mission trip for a week, I made this recipe for my dad and some friends. They loved it and it tasted adn turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe, added some seasonings and corn starch and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodmere, New York, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Just tried this and as my first attempt at beef stew, it was delicious! But I did make the following changes: used 3 cups of water and 2 cans of beef broth, I seasoned the meat with seasoning salt, Accent, and black pepper before browning it, threw in a packet of McCormick beef stew seasoning. After letting it simmer for an hour, I added in about 1/2 of a chopped onion, and if you want a nice thick, hearty broth add in about 4 tbspn of thickening (flour + cold water) after adding in the potatoes and other veggies. You won't need any more flavoring than this! And the meat will be nice and tender. The other thing I did is cooked the rice on the side and served the stew on top of the rice. My hubby and kids went for 2nds and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I thought it was good. It was a little bland, so I added some spices. I wasn't sure what brown sauce is, so maybe that is where the flavor is suppose to come from? Overall, I would suggest trying it. It's a great base and you can get creative with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Great base for a stew, very easy to personalize! I had peas instead of green beans and used sweet potato. I also added onion and garlic powder. Tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was a great stew and my family love it. I change a few things up with different spices to make it my own and a hint of BBQ sause (Its a TX thing!). We love it with mexican cornbread or my beer bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrymomma270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I always add onion (sometimes pearl onions) and worstechire sauce, among some other things. I get creative to add flavor to this. Pretty good on its own, but I'd rather have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States