Beef Sirloin Tip Roast with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was my first sirloin tip roast that I bought on sale. With the increased cost of food, we miss our rib eyes and filets. Since there were no ratings, I was hesitant. Glad I didn't pass this one by! I used a rub from herb-rubbed sirloin tip roast from this site. I let the rub marinate all day. I used fresh mushrooms of 8 oz sliced button and 8 oz. sliced baby bellas. It looked like way too much shrooms, but it wasn't! I also threw in some sweet onion slices then covered with the dry soup and broth. Roasted about the 90 min., and it was perfect medium rare. The dry soup became a bit crunchy, which was great. Served it with Hasselback potatoes also from this site, and steamed broccoli. I give it 5 stars, and glad to be the first to rate it. Give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Delicious!!!! If I could give this more stars I would! One of the best meals we have ever eaten!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Stephen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
First time making a roast and first time using my new ceramic coated cast iron casserole was made easy with this recipe. I wasn't sure whether I should keep the lid on, but decided it would be best, and it worked out well. Searing took about 5 minutes per side before adding the other ingredients and putting in the oven. I used 3 cans of sliced mushrooms instead of 4 cans of pieces since my roast was a bit less than 3lbs. I cooked mine a bit faster/more than planned (to 155 degrees). One mistake: make sure to mix the corn starch with cool broth - it will clump if you put straight into the hot liquid. As suggested by Gymrat, I served this with Hassleback potatoes. I don't usually eat beef OR mushrooms and I enjoyed this. My hubby said, and I quote, "Now THIS is a meal!" He even went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
SIMPLE and both kids at the table were in the 'Clean Plate Club'. Looking very forward to the leftovers recreated as an open faced sandwich on crunchy farm bread, thinking of adding a savory cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJBolduc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Perfect. I used Shiitake mushrooms. As I only had a 1.5 lb top sirloin joint I halved the ingredients. Even though I over cooked the meat the meal was still scrumptious. I also cooked Hasselback potatoes, baked asparagus and broccoli drizzled in a butter/balsamic/soy sauce. Five plus stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband always told me he doesn't like roast beef, until I served this tonight. Excellent. The meat was very tender and the mushroom gravy was fantastic! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was good. I slightly overcooked my roast. It was bigger and i wanted more done then a medium. Added some potatoes and carrots to the pot and used dry onion mushroom soup mix. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is absolutely the best roast I have ever made or eaten!! I only cooked it 60 minutes instead of 90 though and it was medium rare - perfect!! My husband and I love it!!!! Lucilicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I am sure its wonderful as is. As a matter of fact, my mother made her roasts very similar and they were delicious. However, I changed it rather drastically. I used a montreal-type seasoning blend with extra thyme and garlic powder coated all over the roast, liberally. Then browned hard and fast, normal pan, high heat. Transferred roast to ceramic casserole. blended pan juices with broth, red wine and just a touch of liquid smoke and worcestershire. added to roast, baked for 1 hour at 350 for rare-mid-rare center. poured juices from pan back to skillet. Added half a sliced onion, a cup of quartered fresh mushrooms, about a tablespoon of whole peppercorns, a few thin slices of beef leg bone with marrow, a bay leaf, garlic powder and fresh thyme. reduced by almost half. meanwhile, made a 'scratch roux', which is just some melted butter whisked constantly with regular flour over med heat until it turns from buttery yellow to deep gold (just long enuf to kill the raw flour taste and make sure its whisked super smooth). Add to reduction, whisk again to blend gravy, slice your roast, serve mushroom/onion/peppercorn gravy over top. DELICIOUSNESS. Thank you for the inspiration Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have the exact ingredients (garlic and herb dry salad dressing mix instead of onion soup mix) but the cooking method is right on! Super simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States