Beef Sirloin Tip Roast with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
SIMPLE and both kids at the table were in the 'Clean Plate Club'. Looking very forward to the leftovers recreated as an open faced sandwich on crunchy farm bread, thinking of adding a savory cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJBolduc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was my first sirloin tip roast that I bought on sale. With the increased cost of food, we miss our rib eyes and filets. Since there were no ratings, I was hesitant. Glad I didn't pass this one by! I used a rub from herb-rubbed sirloin tip roast from this site. I let the rub marinate all day. I used fresh mushrooms of 8 oz sliced button and 8 oz. sliced baby bellas. It looked like way too much shrooms, but it wasn't! I also threw in some sweet onion slices then covered with the dry soup and broth. Roasted about the 90 min., and it was perfect medium rare. The dry soup became a bit crunchy, which was great. Served it with Hasselback potatoes also from this site, and steamed broccoli. I give it 5 stars, and glad to be the first to rate it. Give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Delicious!!!! If I could give this more stars I would! One of the best meals we have ever eaten!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I am sure its wonderful as is. As a matter of fact, my mother made her roasts very similar and they were delicious. However, I changed it rather drastically. I used a montreal-type seasoning blend with extra thyme and garlic powder coated all over the roast, liberally. Then browned hard and fast, normal pan, high heat. Transferred roast to ceramic casserole. blended pan juices with broth, red wine and just a touch of liquid smoke and worcestershire. added to roast, baked for 1 hour at 350 for rare-mid-rare center. poured juices from pan back to skillet. Added half a sliced onion, a cup of quartered fresh mushrooms, about a tablespoon of whole peppercorns, a few thin slices of beef leg bone with marrow, a bay leaf, garlic powder and fresh thyme. reduced by almost half. meanwhile, made a 'scratch roux', which is just some melted butter whisked constantly with regular flour over med heat until it turns from buttery yellow to deep gold (just long enuf to kill the raw flour taste and make sure its whisked super smooth). Add to reduction, whisk again to blend gravy, slice your roast, serve mushroom/onion/peppercorn gravy over top. DELICIOUSNESS. Thank you for the inspiration Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Perfect. I used Shiitake mushrooms. As I only had a 1.5 lb top sirloin joint I halved the ingredients. Even though I over cooked the meat the meal was still scrumptious. I also cooked Hasselback potatoes, baked asparagus and broccoli drizzled in a butter/balsamic/soy sauce. Five plus stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Ninety minutes? Mine was overcooked at thirty. I was aiming for medium rare, but within less than half an hour internal temp was around 150. I checked the temp thinking I'd get an idea on how long I had to wait before prepping the sides, not to find out it was done. Thankfully, the gravy saved it. It's a good idea, but maybe a lower oven temp would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Wuchte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I followed this very close and it came out great. Only thing I added was Onions and served it with Mashed Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is absolutely the best roast I have ever made or eaten!! I only cooked it 60 minutes instead of 90 though and it was medium rare - perfect!! My husband and I love it!!!! Lucilicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was good. I slightly overcooked my roast. It was bigger and i wanted more done then a medium. Added some potatoes and carrots to the pot and used dry onion mushroom soup mix. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It was delicious just as the recipe called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States